NEED HELP with FEEDING, please!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gweasysmom

Member Since 2011
I took Gweasy in again today because he's peeing and drinking WAY TOO MUCH. THey said his bg is 371, which I know is high, but all they said is to increase his insulin to 4 units.
I keep increasing it. He's gone from 2 units (HUmulin N) a month ago to 3, then 3.5, and now 4 (every 12 hours).

I don't have internet at home. I'm using internet at McD's, but I typed a message a while ago, and the connection timed out right before i hit send.
I don't have a lot of time to drive here and read through messages, and it makes me nervous not to be there where I can watch him.

I spoke to a man today who I know who has diabetes. He told me I shouldn't be letting Gweasy graze all day. I have dry food out for them at all times.
In fact, a couple of nights, I didn't leave enough,and when I fed them in the morning, Gweasy ate too much too fast and threw up, so I had to give him less insulin than i would have.

I read Dr. Pierson's article before I came here tonight, so I'm going to start feeding him only canned tuna and canned cat food that he likes. He quit eating the canned w/d they sent him home with. He never liked it.
Should I really not let him have little bits of food throughout the day? My friend recommended that I feed him three times and dose him three times. I'm afraid to do that, since that's not the vet recommendation, but the vet (or vet tech, since I never get to talk to the vet) never told me when or how much to feed him.
And the current regimen of insulin doesn't seem to be working.

I can't keep up with the amt. of urine in the boxes and on the puppy pads.
If anyone feels compelled to call me instead, please do. I'm at 770- three two nine- 555zero.

If not, please understand that I probably won't see your replies til tomorrow sometime.
thank you!!!!
 
Second, don't change the diet until you start to test at home. His blood glucose levels can go down fast and he could hypo. You are giving a lot of insulin and the dry food may be keeping him in safer numbers.

Humulin is not a great insulin but some cats can be regulated with it. But only if you are hometesting and can keep track of how it is working for him.
 
I spoke to Kim. Will get her a newbie kit sent. She is going to stay with the the dry until she starts testing. No Internet except outside the home so support will be difficult. Sharon and Sparky in Atlanta offered help on her earlier thread so I will send them a pm.
 
Sue, got your pm and a extra nice NK is going out Monday morning. Contour, 50 strips, 30 or so lancets, couple extra great catnip toys and the SOCKIE.
Thank you for letting me know.
You probably saving this little kitties life.
Hugs,
Lori
 
How about LindaLee and Napolean...I think she is near there in GA.
 
Talking to Linda Lee on FB. She lives in Marietta. Seeing if she is close enuf to teach testing. Yay!
 
Dangit!! this is the 2nd time I've posted a long reply and hit send, only to be sent to the McD's sign in page because I timed out. phooey!!

This one will be a bit shorter.
Thank you to the very special angels on this board, esp. Lori, Sue, and Sparky's mom, Sharon!

I am giving Gweasy more canned food (mixed w/dry), along with everyone else. He's not allowing it to be a significant switch, though, because he runs to the one bowl that's got dry-only in it, while the others wait- very impatiently- for the canned. My oldest, Pharoah (17), jumps onto the counter and then onto my shoulder to try to get to the can.

Gweasy has stopped peeing scoopables the size of grapefruits and is now peeing tangerines, so I'm happy about that. I haven't heard back from the clinic about last Saturday's fructosamine test, but I have to go there tomorrow with my 16 yr.old whose dental appt. has been rescheduled five times over the last three months. I hope they'll have news then. And I'm returning the rest of the w/d for a credit to my account.

I did get the kit late last night from Lori---thanks!!!
I didn't get home from work until a little after 11, so didn't have time to go through it. I was extremely nervous getting home because my first full work day in months turned out to be a 12 hr. day and I had not left enough food for that amt. of time away. My left leg started cramping about 30 minutes into the 48 minute drive home, then i realized I was pressing my foot against the floorboard. Fortunately, it was interstate almost all the way, but once I got off I-75, I begged every red light to change and weaved my way to the front of each light. I was thrilled to see him at the door and rubbing against my leg when I walked in the house!

Thank you everyone for your help, and if anyone who called wants to pm your number to me, I forgot to write down the numbers! Please don't text to my number because they are blocked from my phone. WHen this contract is over a year from now, I'll get a better plan that allows them without extra charges.
HUGS!! Kim
 
Sounds like things are improving. Now we need to see some numbers!

Test the meter on yourself to make sure you understand how it works.

Remember to heat the ear till it's nice and warm, poke with confidence. Double poking is okay.

Glad to hear about the job. That's great news!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top