Need help with Dosing

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jenn C + Henry

Member Since 2019
I am having trouble getting Henry on a consistent 2x daily dose of his Lantus insulin. I have been told by his vet, and have read here, not to dose him if his BG is below 200. As he has only been getting insulin for a week I do not want to trigger a hypo.

I am looking for suggestions on his dose. His BG was too high on .5 unit but I can't get 2 doses in safely on 1 unit. My vet said 1u in am and .5u in pm but I am afraid to give him any at his pm BG level. Do I try .75u ?
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1_DlhseviaPwdVPLX0QaSVT7irzaCdaxVMxxHFLDdzY4/edit?usp=sharing
 
Hi, and welcome!!

Does he have any other issues besides de diabetes ? Has he been tested for ketones?
Do you by any chance have any mid day test results?
When you tested him before his shoots were you sure he hadn't eaten 2 hours before testing him?

Here are some comments that I thought about after looking at his spreadsheet (congratulations on getting it set up ):
  • Lattus requires consistency not to mess with the depot so you need to give the same dose morning and night
  • Usually when starting specially with Lantus you have to keep the dose at least a week before changing it to give his body time to get used to getting insulin and the depot to form properly
  • Dosing with Lantus is not done with the preshot tests but on the lower number he had during the day (called the nadir) and since you don't have any mid day test or haven't yet done a curve (is too soon usually the first curve is done after a week of giving insulin) is hard to say how low he went during the day so is hard to say if the 0.5 was really too little
  • Dose increases and decreases are done in 0.25 units
For now I think my suggestion would be to go back to the 0.5 units, and keep it for at least 5 to 6 days (unless he has some problem with ketones ) and then do a curve to decide if you raise the dose to 0.75

I do recommend you take a look at the stikys in the Lantus forum so that you can get a better idea on how Lantus works and choose a protocol that suits you, there are two protocols, tight regulation and start low go slow
This is the link for the lantus forum where you can post for any dose advice or comments and where there are people with a lot of experience using Lantus

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-basaglar-glargine-and-levemir-detemir.9/

And keep asking, all this information is a lot to take in at the begining
 
Thanks!! He is also an asthmatic. He gets a daily inhaler and tiny bit of prednisolone twice a week. He has been on this regimen for 14 years.
He definitely had no food 2 hours before testing. No midday tests yet. Should I do one at +6?
 
Thanks!! He is also an asthmatic. He gets a daily inhaler and tiny bit of prednisolone twice a week. He has been on this regimen for 14 years.
He definitely had no food 2 hours before testing. No midday tests yet. Should I do one at +6?

If you can that would be great that can start giving us an idea on how's he doing during the day

It would be good if you configured your signature ( the gray message that appears in my comments ) indicating his age the insulin he's using and the fact that he's asthmatic and the meds he's taking so that everyone knows and takes that into consideration when making suggestions
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top