Need help with Charlie ASAP huge jump in BG tonight

Status
Not open for further replies.

EllieKozak

Member Since 2014
Hello all. I haven't posted any updates on Charlie over the last few days for 2 reasons. First, he has been seeming to be a little bit more regulated (with the exception of the insulin not lasting the full 12 hours, especially his morning shot) and secondly, a friend of mine's house burned down Thursday night and she is still missing one of her dogs and I have been helping her search. :( But Charlie has been holding his own...until tonight. And I dropped the ball today with him, I work 8-8 on Mondays and since his dx I have been bringing him to work with me, but last week he was very stressed out so today I decided I would leave him home, my teenage daughter was able to feed him small meals throughout the day and his BG this am was 374. I am not able to come home to test his BG and my husband can give his shots but is not comfortable getting blood. I will work on that...but tonight, I had him give 3 units at 7 (normal shot time)...I tested him when I got home and it was 392 ( this would be his +2) and just now at +4 it is 440. I am panicking because shouldn't it be getting lower instead of higher? My husband swears he got the full shot, but I am wondering if it poked thru the skin and he didn't get it, or I don't know why else this would be happening. Any suggestions on what I should do? I know I can get him to eat I don't know if it is safe to give him another shot?? Please help! I am posting this on the prozinc board as well because I am hoping I can get an answer fast. Thanks so much. His spreadsheet link is in my signature
 
Hi Ellie,
EllieKozak said:
... I don't know if it is safe to give him another shot??

No, not safe to give another shot at this point, because it's impossible to tell how much insulin Charlie did get. And he may have got the full shot but just not be responding to it for some reason.

It may be that he dropped lower than usual through the course of the day and is 'bouncing' in response to that (that would look like temporary insulin resistance).
But there are lots of reasons why a cat may not respond to insulin for a period; everything from infections to furballs and....even 'just being a cat'.... Or is it possible he managed to get hold of a high carb snack somewhere...? Does he seem OK in himself..?

In the scheme of things this is only one insulin cycle.
His numbers may even drop a little later into the cycle. Let's see what the next preshot brings...

Please don't worry, Ellie.

(((Hugs)))

Eliz
 
thank you! I am so worried because right now should be his nadir! and hes at 440. I am thinking its gonna be off the charts in the morning. I am petrified of DKA as we already dealt with that 3 weeks ago with Charlie
 
Ellie, just cross-posted with you; have edited message above so that it is now more than a one liner!

Do you have ketone strips to test Charlie's pee?

Eliz
 
I don't. I meant to bring more home from work...He is acting normal, I can bring him to work with me tomorrow and test his urine I just want to make sure he will be ok thru the night. Normally Id feed him right now but haven't because I don't know what to do
 
Just read your message. Thank you! So, he should be ok thru the night without going into DKA if for some reason he didn't get his shot? Again, my husband swears on his life that he got the full shot, but I cant be sure because I looked back at his chart and hes never had a +4 so high. Should I feed him or just leave him be? He is acting fine, should I test one more time before bed? He didn't get into any treats but I did give him some bonito flakes and a few freeze dried chicken bites, maybe 5-6 chicken bites and a tablespoon of bonita flakes at around where his +3 would have been. Would that do it? Not high carb tho...
 
Are you concerned that the food will raise his BG even more?
It may do.
But Charlie needs to eat too...(and especially so if he's ketone prone). Does Charlie's breath smell normal? (not like peardrops/acetone?)

Another test could be a good idea. It'll let you know how the numbers are trending.

Is it a possibility to give the am shot early...? confused_cat
 
EllieKozak said:
..I did give him some bonito flakes and a few freeze dried chicken bites, maybe 5-6 chicken bites and a tablespoon of bonita flakes at around where his +3 would have been. Would that do it?

No, freeze-dried meat treats and bonito shouldn't cause the BG to jump up if they contain only meat/fish.
 
As you can see, I am a little gunshy of DKA happening again, especially because he had been on insulin for 2 weeks before the episode and he got his morning shot the night of the crisis. I am so afraid to bring him to work because he gets so stressed there, but I don't know how safe it is for him not to have his pmps number on Monday and just shoot blind....thank you so much for your help tonight Elizabeth!
 
EllieKozak said:
Its 340!!!! :0) This cat is trying to make me go insane!!! Hes lucky hes so cute!!!

That's better!
(And maybe the 440 was even a meter/strip error (and sometimes too much or too little blood can skew the reading)).

I hope you can get some good rest, Ellie.
I'm off to get my first cup of coffee of the day (it's 6.15am in UK) ~O)

Eliz
 
When you get an unusual test, re-test.

And see my signature link on Glucometer Notes.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top