need help to start with insulin!

Status
Not open for further replies.
My mom can't check the bg, she barely agreed to shoot.
I thought of a different scenario: what if we fix the shooting times at 10, and when I have to go to work in the morning, I do the amps measurement at 8 and my mom then shoots (and feeds) at 10? What do you think?
 
Well, the BG will likely start to rise by then. It would be +10. If she shoots and feeds and insulin kicks in two hours later. When would the next test be? Also sometimes cats double dip and go down by shot time. You would not know that. Also the BG could be in the lower side at +10 and you would not know if it’s safe to shoot.
@Bron and Sheba (GA) @Wendy&Neko @Bandit's Mom What do you think?
 
Last edited:
Can you help me; Lisa ate at 8 with the injection, an hour ago she ate some yogurt with theo dur, should I feed her else now?
 
L
Well, the BG will likely start to rise by then. It would be +10. If she shoots and feeds at 20 insulin kicks in two hours later. When would the next test be? Also sometimes cats double dip and go down by shot time. You would not know that. Also the BG could be in the lower side at +10 and you would not know if it’s safe to shoot.
@Bron and Sheba (GA) @Wendy&Neko @Bandit's Mom What do you think?
My thoughts....That is probably the best scenario, but it is not without its risks.
Maybe after testing the +10 at 8am, on the days she has to go to work early, Dionysia could give Lisa a snack.
If the BG is low at +10 we will have to rethink that day.
I can’t think of another solution. At least this way the doses will be consistent. If this scenario becomes risky, we will have to think of another solution.
 
I don't know if I shooted well!!! I saw a drop outside!!
What do I do,?
It sounds as if you may have given a fur shot. That is when all the dose does not go in u
Nder the skin. Is that what happened?
If that is what happened there is nothing you can do but wait til the next shot. NEVER REPEAT THE DOSE
Just note on the Ss where you put the number of units given “fur shot”
 
You can shoot in any of these places.
You can also clip or shave some hair from the cat to see better if you want to
upload_2021-5-2_16-12-3.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2021-5-2_16-12-3.jpeg
    upload_2021-5-2_16-12-3.jpeg
    52.3 KB · Views: 332
Hello!
I just got a 105 measurement at +3:40 (3 hours and 40 minutes)!!
What do I do now? Is it too low?
Also how do I write the value on the ss?
 
Hello!
I just got a 105 measurement at +3:40 (3 hours and 40 minutes)!!
What do I do now? Is it too low?
Also how do I write the value on the ss?
That is quite a drop.
I would give Lisa some ordinary low carb food to eat now, and test again in 30 minutes to see she is not dropping too much further.
To write it in the SS put 105@3.75 into the +3 square.
Post your next test in 30 minutes and we will watch for it.
 
I gave 4% carb food and measured half an hour later and it is 82! !
What do I do now?
Also now it was 4h and 30mins after injection, so do I write 82@4.50 in the +4 square ;
 
I gave 4% carb food and measured half an hour later and it is 82! !
What do I do now?
Also now it was 4h and 30mins after injection, so do I write 82@4.50 in the +4 square ;
He is still safe. Do you have any higher carb food you can give him? If so give him some of that now. And test him again in 30 minutes. Don’t leave it a hour.
Yes write the 82 in the +4 square
 
Dionysia, would you be able to write in the remarks column of the SS what you fed Lisa please so that we can see, and it will be good for you to look back at if this happens again. Write something like..”pm cycle...low carb snack given at +3.75, 10.5% snack given at +4.5 and low carb snack at 5.75”
***Lisa has also earned a reduction with the drop down to 82 on SLGS. The new dose will be 0.25 units.
 
Did the ss and will do the rest!!
But my syringe measures 1/2 units not 1/4 units, how do I get 0.25 unit from it?

177554559_391986482484574_8928789006102471691_n.jpg
 

Attachments

  • 177554559_391986482484574_8928789006102471691_n.jpg
    177554559_391986482484574_8928789006102471691_n.jpg
    60.6 KB · Views: 310
The 0.25 units is half way between the 0 mark and the 0.5 mark. There are no 1/4 unit syringes. You have to just try and get it 1/2 way between the 0 mark and the 0.5 mark as best you can
upload_2021-5-3_22-37-24.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2021-5-3_22-37-24.jpeg
    upload_2021-5-3_22-37-24.jpeg
    26.1 KB · Views: 295
She got a 164 at +7, should I continue feeding/measuring?
She also coughed because of her asthma. Can theo dur (theophylline) pill or flixotide 125/flovent(flucticasone) inhaler or aerolin (salbutamol )inhaler.Al
 
Last edited:
I think she should be fine now. That was the best cycle she has had. You managed the lower numbers very well!
I’m not sure if those medications would effect the BG. I have no experience with cats and asthma. Hopefully someone else can help you with that.
 
Thank you so much for guiding me through this!!
On Wednesday in the am cycle I will be home until +4.50, I feel anxious. My mom will be at home she can feed but not measure bg. Do you think it can be a problem?
 
Thank you so much for guiding me through this!!
On Wednesday in the am cycle I will be home until +4.50, I feel anxious. My mom will be at home she can feed but not measure bg. Do you think it can be a problem?
Great cycle today, Dionysia. Lisa is really doing well on Lantus. Congrats on the reduction! :-)

You can test before you leave and feed a little higher carb food if Lisa is running on the lower side. Not to worry!
 
I just measured my cat's glucose and it's 411. Is it correct to give a dose of 0.25 only?
Yes. She is just bouncing from the lows she saw earlier today. Stick to 0.25U.

Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". Usually, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).
 
Thank you so much!! Do you know of anyone on this forum that can advise me on my cat's asthma medications?
 
Why don't you start a new post on this forum with something like "Asthma meds" in the subject title. I know there are plenty of kitties out there dealing with that too.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top