Need help to decide on dosage after 12 hours test cycle

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gozde Yildirim

Member Since 2011
Hi,
I can not test BG frequently because my cat is staying with my parents, they give her the insulin I prepare before.
We started with 0.5, then I was at business trip for 2 weeks. When I came back, I increased the dosage to 1.0. Last Saturday, I planed to do 12 hours test cycle. In the morning, I tested her BG just after my dad gave the insulin, it was around 150. Then it decreased to 50, then 40, so I gave her honey with water and some dry food (she only eats Fancy Feast and liver). Then BG increased to 250 just before we gave her the dosage at night. We decreased the dosage to 0.75 in the morning. Then I started the 12 hours test cycle, at the end of the day, we decreased to 0.5 when BG was 207 just before Insulin time.
I think I shouldn't decrease it so qucikly, however my parents can not make BG tests alone and I am not living with them. Therefore we are afraid of finding our cat in very Low BGs.

I would like to take your recommendations (you can find my cats BG results in my signature).
Many thanks, Gözde.
 
Merhaba Gözde ~

You're starting to get some good numbers for Sisi, Gözde. But since you're not able to be around all the time and your parents aren't testing on a regular basis, then I'm wondering if it wouldn't be better and safer for you to drop the dosing back down to .50U in the AM and PM. Hold that dose for a week and then run another curve to see how Sisi's doing on the lower dose. Lantus does work better with consistent AM and PM dosing for most cats. Gözde, I know you don't want to be worrying about Sisi's going too low while you're away.

Let's see what other members have to suggest, too.

See you later -- Görüşürüz.

Eva
 
Gozde Yildirim said:
Hi,
I can not test BG frequently because my cat is staying with my parents, they give her the insulin I prepare before.
We started with 0.5, then I was at business trip for 2 weeks. When I came back, I increased the dosage to 1.0. Last Saturday, I planed to do 12 hours test cycle. In the morning, I tested her BG just after my dad gave the insulin, it was around 150. Then it decreased to 50, then 40, so I gave her honey with water and some dry food (she only eats Fancy Feast and liver). Then BG increased to 250 just before we gave her the dosage at night. We decreased the dosage to 0.75 in the morning. Then I started the 12 hours test cycle, at the end of the day, we decreased to 0.5 when BG was 207 just before Insulin time.
I think I shouldn't decrease it so qucikly, however my parents can not make BG tests alone and I am not living with them. Therefore we are afraid of finding our cat in very Low BGs.

I would like to take your recommendations (you can find my cats BG results in my signature).
Many thanks, Gözde.

First thing I would like to say is how wonderful that your parents are taking such great care of your cat! a BIG thank you to them!

OK because your are not able to get BG testing done in your situation with your being away often, I would go with a lower and safer dose.

When I look at your ss, the numbers for the .5u dose look high and low in places.... Question: the syringes you have - do they have 1/2 unit markings on them or do your syringes have just full unit markings. I am hoping you have the 1/2 markings as it will be easier to get a consistent dose for your cat. Please try to get the syringes with 1/2 markings if you don't have them now.

Who is measuring the insulin into the syringes? Is it your Dad who is measuring? Does the below mean you are drawing the insulin into syringes to be given on the days that you are away?
I can not test BG frequently because my cat is staying with my parents, they give her the insulin I prepare before.

For a food question, what is the normal diet you cat is fed...you mention dry food, so i wanted to ask if that food was given only when the BG went low on your curve.
so I gave her honey with water and some dry food (she only eats Fancy Feast and liver)
any of the dry food will cause a rise in the BG but it is NOT a fast rise, so it's a good thing you gave her the honey water to bring her up.

I sure am relieved that you did the curve and you can now safely say that WHOA 1u is likely much too high for her, and I bet on the previous days when she got the same 1u dose, she most probably went low, so I think I would step back to the .5u dose and stay there because it's safer for her.

If you look at the first shot at 1u dose, on 2.02.12, she dropped to 89 by +6, so I would bet that she was much lower around +4.
Now look at your curve on 11.02.12 and you will see that my suspicion of going low on the 1u dose is confirmed. At shot time, she was 160 and she quickly dropped to 50 in the first hour and then to 38 in the 2nd hour....so lucky that you were there to help her rise.
I say forget about that 1u dose! It's too much for her.

You were very wise to drop to the .75u dose on the very next shot on 11.02.12!
And it looks like it could be a good dose for a little while if you were able to test and monitor, and if your syringes have the 1/2 unit markings, but if you are away many days and can be around for doing testing and curves maybe weekly or less often, I have to say it may be much safer for your cat to just go with the .5u dose. Sure, you may have a bit higher numbers, but she will be safe.

Once you are able to be around more often, or you are able to show your parents how to home test before shots, you can think about going up to a .75u dose.

Again, thanks so much to your parents for helping you and big pats for your cat!
 
Hi again,
Yes I am lucky that my parents are taking care of my sweet cat:) I don't want to force them to test her BG every day, maybe in a few weeks they can also get used to that.
Tonight I again visited them and tested my cats BG, it was 215 at PMPS. I did 0.5 as you also recommended. I have syringes that have 0.5 markings on them but still I think it is not so easy.
She only eats fancy feast and liver during day. I only gave her dry food when her BG was at 38. This weekend, I will make one more curve and see the results with 0.5. Then I wil again share it with you.
Many thanks for your great support!
 
Hi hi,

Just read all this! Everyone is giving you some great advice. I'm sure things will work themselves out!

PS. I responded to you in my condo :) But it's nothing new than what is already here....

Hope you're having a great day!!
 
Tonight I again visited them and tested my cats BG, it was 215 at PMPS. I did 0.5 as you also recommended. I have syringes that have 0.5 markings on them but still I think it is not so easy.

I just realized that I forgot to mention what I use to measure small amounts for my cats....
I have a magnifier that clips onto a shelf or wherever is handy and then you can see the syringe markings much better.
http://www.telesightmagnifiers.com/catalog/i83.html
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top