Need help- switching from vetsulin to prozinc

Status
Not open for further replies.

Betchadeb

Member
Hi, I am going to switch from vetsulin to prozinc in about 2 to 3 weeks as I want to finish up the vetsulin. I asked about what Skylars first dose should be and was told that I would get actual dosing info here. So I am here asking for your help please. I don't know how to give you access to the conversations that led me hereas I am technology challenged. Also I need to update Skylars spread sheet but my computer crashed and I can't access her sheet through my phone. ugh.. Any and all help will be appreciated.
 
She is currently on 3 1/2 units in the morning and evening. AMPS are right around 260 ish and PMPS are around 250 these last couple of days. This is on the reli on micro meter for humans.
 
In general, the suggestion would be to lower the dose a bit, just in case. How about posting here as you switch over and get your spreadsheet up so we can help you keep track.
 
I will definetly post here when I switch her insulin. Just waiting until she is almost finished with the vetsulin. Her spreadsheet is now current. Thanks and have a good night.
 
Suggestions, advice any input?? Skylar's numbers as of what I have taken today (just got back home and tested) look pretty good. Looks like the vetsulin is working for almost 12 hours. I dropped her dose this morning from 3.5 to 3 and her t6 reading was 159 (yeah we are going lower). My goal is to get her in remission. Should I stick with the vetsulin since we seem to have the food in control now or once I am done with the vial switch to Pro zinc?
.
 
Still seems like Vetsulin is working well for Skylar. I do think you can increase her dose slowly because she has room to drop. You could aim for blue PSs and (safe) green middle numbers and from what her SS shows, Vetsulin will get you there. The choice to switch is yours of course but I like what I see.
 
You can make finer dose adjustments than 0.5 unit changes by either eyeballing quarter units), or using a conversion chart to allow you to use U-100 syringes
Each mark on the U-100 is actually only 40% or 0.4 of the value it indicates, so the 0.5 unit mark is actually 0.5*0.4 = 0.2 units.
 
Were certainly glad to help if you switch but it does seem like vetsulin is working. Itsnyour choice of course but I think I'd stay the course for now too.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top