Need help! Question about low bg and dosing

Status
Not open for further replies.

DaniCoz

Member Since 2011
I need some advice! Yesterday was the first day I was able to get enough blood to test (finally!!). On Saturday, Charlie got his annual checkup and rabies at the vet. He also got his feeding tube out! :-D The vet tech called a couple hours after his appt. and said the vet wanted him to get his shot only once a day b/c his bg was low. I swear it sounded like she said 22, but he was showing no signs of hypo and eating normally, so I'm gonna ask when I call. He was getting 2u of Lantus twice daily. Well, since Lantus lasts for 12 hours I thought it made more sense to give 1u once daily than just give one shot. I tried to test Saturday at +12 but couldn't get a reading. So I skipped the shot just be on the safe side. Tried to test yesterday (Sunday) pre-shot, but again, not enough blood after 3 pokes...Charlie is such a trooper! I gave him 1u b/c I was still worried about hypo. Well he did great yesterday, including have a great appetite. I should mention that for 10 days he has been off his tube feeds of Hills a/d and on a low carb diet. OK, now I'm getting to the numbers. Sorry this is so long! I tested yesterday at +9 (about 3-4 hours after he ate). His BG was 132. I tested again at +12: 119. I skipped his shot and gave him his dinner. I tried again before going to bed last night but no dice. He got his midnight meal. This morning I tested at what is now +24 from his last 1u shot. He was at 115!! So I skipped his shot and gave him his meal. I am going to try to test again to see how it spikes after the meal.

I wish I had more numbers, but from what I'm seeing it looks like Charlie either needs a smaller dose (.5u maybe) or could it be that he is already responding to the new diet? I don't want to mess his body up by not giving him his shots, but I'm more afraid of a hypo attack! Anyone have any ideas?!?

Thanks for reading :smile:
 
You are doing the right thing by not giving insulin at those BGs. They normal for a non-diabetic cat. I would take a BG at about +4 hours and +6 hours. Depending upon the BGs at those numbers and before the next shot (if one), you may not again give a shot or give less than 1/2 unit.
 
Thanks Larry and Kitties. :smile: I wasn't home at +4 and +6, so I tested as close as possible. Numbers are still low! At +3 (really +27 for shot, but 3 hours after eating) he was at 139. At +8 (really +32, and 2 hours after his lunch - he gets 4 small meals per day) he was at 112. Since I only have 5 numbers I haven't plotted yet and don't have a real clear picture of what is going on. I can't imagine him spiking above 150 before his next shot, but if he does get that high maybe I should just do a small dose? If it's still around 110-115 should I skip it again? Is it possible that diet alone is enough to get him regulated so quickly? He was eating Iams indoor formula before dx, with the occasional can of wet, then getting IV fluids for a few days, then started on Hills a/d through the tube. After 2 weeks of tube feeding he was fully transitioned to low carb wet and has been for 10 days.
 
I didn't use Lantus for my kitty but usually the advice for new dx kitties is no shot under 200. It is completly possible that diet alone can make the bg go down into normal range - when I changed harry's diet (on 11/22) by 12/1 his numbers were already coming in mostly under 200 and I was skipping shots and he was otj by 12/8.

Someone with more experience with Lantus will be along to help with dosing advice but in the mean time I would say no shots under 200 and keep up the great work on home testing :-D
 
A non-diabetic cat has BGs from 40-120. Your cat is within those numbers...at this time (I don't want to jinx anything or make any promises. Each cat is different, and they can be different from day to day - they're cats! LOL). Keep an eye on him and test regularly. It is possible for cats to lower their BGs by switching to low carb wet.

Shooting under 200 BGs isn't something to take lightly. If you haven't posted in Lantus, you might do so. A lot of folks don't check the Health forum. :smile:

Keeping fingers and paws crossed!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top