DaniCoz
Member Since 2011
I need some advice! Yesterday was the first day I was able to get enough blood to test (finally!!). On Saturday, Charlie got his annual checkup and rabies at the vet. He also got his feeding tube out!
The vet tech called a couple hours after his appt. and said the vet wanted him to get his shot only once a day b/c his bg was low. I swear it sounded like she said 22, but he was showing no signs of hypo and eating normally, so I'm gonna ask when I call. He was getting 2u of Lantus twice daily. Well, since Lantus lasts for 12 hours I thought it made more sense to give 1u once daily than just give one shot. I tried to test Saturday at +12 but couldn't get a reading. So I skipped the shot just be on the safe side. Tried to test yesterday (Sunday) pre-shot, but again, not enough blood after 3 pokes...Charlie is such a trooper! I gave him 1u b/c I was still worried about hypo. Well he did great yesterday, including have a great appetite. I should mention that for 10 days he has been off his tube feeds of Hills a/d and on a low carb diet. OK, now I'm getting to the numbers. Sorry this is so long! I tested yesterday at +9 (about 3-4 hours after he ate). His BG was 132. I tested again at +12: 119. I skipped his shot and gave him his dinner. I tried again before going to bed last night but no dice. He got his midnight meal. This morning I tested at what is now +24 from his last 1u shot. He was at 115!! So I skipped his shot and gave him his meal. I am going to try to test again to see how it spikes after the meal.
I wish I had more numbers, but from what I'm seeing it looks like Charlie either needs a smaller dose (.5u maybe) or could it be that he is already responding to the new diet? I don't want to mess his body up by not giving him his shots, but I'm more afraid of a hypo attack! Anyone have any ideas?!?
Thanks for reading :smile:
I wish I had more numbers, but from what I'm seeing it looks like Charlie either needs a smaller dose (.5u maybe) or could it be that he is already responding to the new diet? I don't want to mess his body up by not giving him his shots, but I'm more afraid of a hypo attack! Anyone have any ideas?!?
Thanks for reading :smile: