Sam and Charms
Member Since 2013
Hi , my cat Charms was diagnosed a few months ago and my vet did not have a lot of experience with diabetes. Charms is 9 yrs old, neutered male.
My vet started him on 2 units of ProZinc, twice a day and had me test him once every three to five days at the six hour mark. His BG never got below 360 even after getting up to 6 units. At that point my vet switched him to Humulin N at 6 units twice a day with the same testing protocol. The BG at the 6 hour mark still did not get below 360. Plus he started to act sickly on this insulin. I found this site and decided to ask my vet to switch to Lantus. I told him about your protocol so he said to try it . Started Lantus at 2 units twice a day and tested preshot , +2,+4, +6, +8, preshot. Not sure if I am doing this right because BG's are going up. Charms eats Friskies Pate at 5:15 Am , gets tested at 5:30 and his shot at 5:45. I have ten cats and some of them eat Epigen , so sometimes Charms sneaks some of their food. Morning routine, cats eat, dogs go for a walk while they are eating, so then when I get back everything is less chaotic so that is why I test after feeding and then give him a shot. Started the Lantus on June 20, up until then he was getting 6 units of Humulin N twice a day. The following are Charms BG results using Lantus.
June 20 2 units AMPS 441, +2 398, +4 343, +6 405, +8 440, PMPS 444
June 21 2 1/2 units AMPS 467, +2 400, +4 417, +6 444, +8 , PMPS 441
June 22 2 1/2 units AMPS 519, +2 464, +4 432, +6 485, +8 465, PMPS 450
June 23 3 units AMPS 501, +2 415, +4 , +6 449, +8 405, PMPS 462
June 24 3 units AMPS 477, +2 430, +4 , +6 424, +8 403, PMPS 419
June 25 3 units AMPS 455, +2 370, +4 410, +6 411, +8 , PMPS 451
June 26 3 1/2 units AMPS 452, +2 459, +4 456, +6 445, +8 457, PMPS 478
June 27 3 1/2 units AMPS 425, +2 404, +4 457, +6 452, +8 439, PMPS 554
June 28 4 units AMPS 451, +2 488, +4 461
At this time I am unable to use the spreadsheet. So I plotted these results old school on a graph. Days 1-3 curve was rising. Days 4 -6 dropped. then day 7 a high flat line. day 8 not much better with a very high ending BG . I give him the shot in the neck. Please let me know what to do at this point. Not happy with results so far not sure what I am doing wrongand vet thinks I should just keep raising the insulin level. Please help!
My vet started him on 2 units of ProZinc, twice a day and had me test him once every three to five days at the six hour mark. His BG never got below 360 even after getting up to 6 units. At that point my vet switched him to Humulin N at 6 units twice a day with the same testing protocol. The BG at the 6 hour mark still did not get below 360. Plus he started to act sickly on this insulin. I found this site and decided to ask my vet to switch to Lantus. I told him about your protocol so he said to try it . Started Lantus at 2 units twice a day and tested preshot , +2,+4, +6, +8, preshot. Not sure if I am doing this right because BG's are going up. Charms eats Friskies Pate at 5:15 Am , gets tested at 5:30 and his shot at 5:45. I have ten cats and some of them eat Epigen , so sometimes Charms sneaks some of their food. Morning routine, cats eat, dogs go for a walk while they are eating, so then when I get back everything is less chaotic so that is why I test after feeding and then give him a shot. Started the Lantus on June 20, up until then he was getting 6 units of Humulin N twice a day. The following are Charms BG results using Lantus.
June 20 2 units AMPS 441, +2 398, +4 343, +6 405, +8 440, PMPS 444
June 21 2 1/2 units AMPS 467, +2 400, +4 417, +6 444, +8 , PMPS 441
June 22 2 1/2 units AMPS 519, +2 464, +4 432, +6 485, +8 465, PMPS 450
June 23 3 units AMPS 501, +2 415, +4 , +6 449, +8 405, PMPS 462
June 24 3 units AMPS 477, +2 430, +4 , +6 424, +8 403, PMPS 419
June 25 3 units AMPS 455, +2 370, +4 410, +6 411, +8 , PMPS 451
June 26 3 1/2 units AMPS 452, +2 459, +4 456, +6 445, +8 457, PMPS 478
June 27 3 1/2 units AMPS 425, +2 404, +4 457, +6 452, +8 439, PMPS 554
June 28 4 units AMPS 451, +2 488, +4 461
At this time I am unable to use the spreadsheet. So I plotted these results old school on a graph. Days 1-3 curve was rising. Days 4 -6 dropped. then day 7 a high flat line. day 8 not much better with a very high ending BG . I give him the shot in the neck. Please let me know what to do at this point. Not happy with results so far not sure what I am doing wrongand vet thinks I should just keep raising the insulin level. Please help!