NEED help in dosing when shot given 1hr earlier for 2days

Status
Not open for further replies.

owlgal

Member Since 2011
Just found out that i have to go out of town on this Monday for family emergency. I have the leave the house no later than 6am and will be gone all day until later that night. The problem is that i'm giving shot now @8:30amEST n 8:30pm. So if i go 45min earlier tomorrow(sun- amps and pmps) and evening Pmps 45min earlier. Then monday morning only have to start 45min earlier for pmps shot. Then on Mon morning i have to test 45min earlier. SO with this many days in a row of early times, what dose should i shoot? I was going to go up to 1.2u tomorrow. But since i have to shoot 45 min earlier every cycle, i was thinking then a 1u or .8 for amps shot and maybe ,8 for pmps shot? I know that when giving shot early means dose increase. SO this is where i need help! WHAT dose should i be giving him with it being so early???

THoughts greatly appreciated!

lori
 
Re: NEED help in dosing when shot given 1hr earlier for 2day

When I am shifting Poopy's dose by 30 minutes (shooting 30 min earlier than the last shot), I don't change the amount at all. With 45 minute shift, maybe reduce the insulin by a hair, if at all.

ProZinc is pretty forgiving when shooting a bit early or late, so that's a good thing. :smile:
 
Re: NEED help in dosing when shot given 1hr earlier for 2day

Thanks! Compared with AT is was @190. SO went with the relion #. I gave .8(fat). Hope I picked the right number. He seems to be running his nadir really late like (+7, +9). I have to give 1hr earlier tonight, since i didn't quite get it in 45min ahead of time. I'm sure i will need to reduce even more than.

THanks!! Have a nice day!

lori
 
Re: NEED help in dosing when shot given 1hr earlier for 2day

I gave Copper his amps shot 1.5hrs early this am and gave a reduced dose (.4) because was out of town all day. It is now +12 and ready to give pmps shot. If he is in the upper 200's or low 300's should i give full dose or reduced dose because of the earlier amps shot?

THANKS!
lori
 
Re: NEED help in dosing when shot given 1hr earlier for 2day

Pmps +12 @289

I guess i should shoot 1u? Hope this is right?

Lori
 
Re: NEED help in dosing when shot given 1hr earlier for 2day

Hi Lori, Looks like Copper did very well on getting that shot 1.5 hrs early! I know you were happy to see that PMPS. Looks like you have given 1u before. Can't imagine that would be a problem. It's been 12 hrs since AMPS, no?
 
Re: NEED help in dosing when shot given 1hr earlier for 2day

I agree, Lori, 1u should be fine.

Carl
 
Re: NEED help in dosing when shot given 1hr earlier for 2day

Thanks!

I retested with alpha and relion just to make sure and AT 315 Relion 352. Wonder why AT keeps coming in lower.

ANyhoo.... Fed and gave 1u

lori
 
Re: NEED help in dosing when shot given 1hr earlier for 2day

Our AT comes in a bit lower every so often, it did when we tested it at the vet’s too.
 
Re: NEED help in dosing when shot given 1hr earlier for 2day

When it's been 12 hours or more since the last shot, you don't have to worry when the other shot was given (early for example). :-D

I know, it gets tricky when shot times are moved around. :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top