dodgingwrenches
Member Since 2010
I did post in another thread, but thought I'd start a fresh one for the current issue, since the last one was rather broad.
My cat (6 year old male, large but not overweight (normal weight 15 pounds)) was diagnosed three weeks ago with diabetes. His BG was 22.4 at the time (403 in the US). Vet ordered insulin twice a day, twelve hours apart, 3 units each shot (Novolin). He was also switched to a low carb diet at the time.
Two weeks later, at the checkup (a week ago Tuesday), his BG was at 29 (522). Vet increased dose to 5 units twice per day.
I started home monitoring on Saturday, here is my spreadsheet so far.
https://spreadsheets.google.com/ccc?key ... 2RUE&hl=en
Upon recommendations from the board, I last night decreased his dose to 2.5 units, and he got that last night and this morning. Didn't want to "shock" him with an immediate decrease to 1 unit, which is the started recommending dose on here, so someone recommended 2.5, and then reducing to 1 after a few days. Anyway, his BG this morning (pre-shot) was still off the charts though - anything above 33 (600 US), and my monitor just shows "Hi". He was "Hi" yesterday and today am pre-shot.
Anyone have experience with this? Anyone have any suggestions on how to get his BG under control based on my spreadsheet? Yes, I'm trying to monitor his ketones, but he only peed once yesterday, and at some point that I didn't catch him (tried to monitor litter box and even brought him there a few times to try and entice him to use it) so I haven't been able to check those yet. He is eating normally (loves being back on a wet food diet). I'm also getting a different insulin (Lantus) tomorrow (thanks to odiesmom). I just have no faith in my vet at all.
I'm very worried about him :YMSIGH:
Sophia
My cat (6 year old male, large but not overweight (normal weight 15 pounds)) was diagnosed three weeks ago with diabetes. His BG was 22.4 at the time (403 in the US). Vet ordered insulin twice a day, twelve hours apart, 3 units each shot (Novolin). He was also switched to a low carb diet at the time.
Two weeks later, at the checkup (a week ago Tuesday), his BG was at 29 (522). Vet increased dose to 5 units twice per day.
I started home monitoring on Saturday, here is my spreadsheet so far.
https://spreadsheets.google.com/ccc?key ... 2RUE&hl=en
Upon recommendations from the board, I last night decreased his dose to 2.5 units, and he got that last night and this morning. Didn't want to "shock" him with an immediate decrease to 1 unit, which is the started recommending dose on here, so someone recommended 2.5, and then reducing to 1 after a few days. Anyway, his BG this morning (pre-shot) was still off the charts though - anything above 33 (600 US), and my monitor just shows "Hi". He was "Hi" yesterday and today am pre-shot.
Anyone have experience with this? Anyone have any suggestions on how to get his BG under control based on my spreadsheet? Yes, I'm trying to monitor his ketones, but he only peed once yesterday, and at some point that I didn't catch him (tried to monitor litter box and even brought him there a few times to try and entice him to use it) so I haven't been able to check those yet. He is eating normally (loves being back on a wet food diet). I'm also getting a different insulin (Lantus) tomorrow (thanks to odiesmom). I just have no faith in my vet at all.
I'm very worried about him :YMSIGH:
Sophia
:!: