Sharon w-r
Member Since 2021
Thank you in advance for your suggestions
Question ... I have about 1.5 hours left and need to figure out evening dose after hypo event today am
Can you suggest what to dose tonight?
GEM went to BG 50 this morning...behavior ok but very fast swing
We had to fast her for bloodwork (gave even lower than normal evening dose for fear of fasted night)by 8am she was at BG100 and dropping fast...right down to 50
Intervened with a lot corn syrup, 3 tubes of churu, syringed wet food and a bit of freeze dried rabbit
It took over an hour to get her BG to start to rise.
Worried about giving so much sugar and depleting her insulin depot we gave her Lantus 0.75units around 10am once her numbers came up
Her normal dose is 1.75am and 1.25pm (we have always feared a hypo event while sleeping so we opted to not given same dose am/pm
We have to pull the libre sensor data and spreadsheet it for you but
But her numbers have lowered from 300's and 400's to 200's last week with more prolonged dips into 100's so all was improving
Thee swings reduced a lot
Right now she's at 160
Background info
Gem 6.5yo female tux.
had a bad bout of inappetite and lost nearly 1 pound from March to April ... she weighed 10, dropped to 9.2, and we have helped her regain and is now around 10lbs again.
diagnosed IBD Jan 2020 put on budesonide
Diagnosed Fall 2020 HyperT and started methimazole half dose
We had her T4 followup in March 2021
Vet recommended to slowly increase to full dose
April T4 was fine/low in range but glucose/fructosamine went high...diabetic
underlying all is FELV (that was a surprise...she was neg at time we pulled her off the streets)
Question ... I have about 1.5 hours left and need to figure out evening dose after hypo event today am
Can you suggest what to dose tonight?
GEM went to BG 50 this morning...behavior ok but very fast swing
We had to fast her for bloodwork (gave even lower than normal evening dose for fear of fasted night)by 8am she was at BG100 and dropping fast...right down to 50
Intervened with a lot corn syrup, 3 tubes of churu, syringed wet food and a bit of freeze dried rabbit
It took over an hour to get her BG to start to rise.
Worried about giving so much sugar and depleting her insulin depot we gave her Lantus 0.75units around 10am once her numbers came up
Her normal dose is 1.75am and 1.25pm (we have always feared a hypo event while sleeping so we opted to not given same dose am/pm
We have to pull the libre sensor data and spreadsheet it for you but
But her numbers have lowered from 300's and 400's to 200's last week with more prolonged dips into 100's so all was improving
Thee swings reduced a lot
Right now she's at 160
Background info
Gem 6.5yo female tux.
had a bad bout of inappetite and lost nearly 1 pound from March to April ... she weighed 10, dropped to 9.2, and we have helped her regain and is now around 10lbs again.
diagnosed IBD Jan 2020 put on budesonide
Diagnosed Fall 2020 HyperT and started methimazole half dose
We had her T4 followup in March 2021
Vet recommended to slowly increase to full dose
April T4 was fine/low in range but glucose/fructosamine went high...diabetic
underlying all is FELV (that was a surprise...she was neg at time we pulled her off the streets)