Kiera
Member Since 2021
After only a month after dx and a hypo scare, my cat went into remission. Going off insulin was a decision I made without a vet. When Bailey started showing symptoms of hypo, my vet said “he probably needs more insulin. let’s increase every dose by 1 unit”. That would have killed him! You guys saved his life!!! I will be forever grateful! That was in September.
He was doing great OTJ… but for over a month now, his water consumption has been excessive. A lot of days he drinks 14-17 fl oz (at least an entire water bottle). Some days more. He’s constantly flooding the litter box.
I was doing BG checks, but not recording the readings. Recently, I went back to more frequent tests and recording numbers (please see spreadsheet).
Took both cats to new vet for full checkup and blood work on 2/11. Cost me over a grand (which is an entirely different matter that I’m upset about since that seems like a lot more than I should’ve been charged and a lot more than I’m used to). Anyway, after all that, I have no answers. The vet agrees that Bailey is in remission. He gets very stressed at vets but his BG was 170 and fructosamine was 253. T4 was 2.7. We did a cystocentesis as well.
The vet has literally no explanation for the excessive drinking and peeing. No advice or direction was given. Just told me to come back and re-test in a month since certain tests were on the high end of normal. I’m so upset and now don’t know what to do. I can’t afford a second opinion. I will be paying this recent vet bill for months.
How can nothing be wrong? He drinks all day and night. I have to clean the litter box multiple times a day because it gets so full. Plus, my gut tells me something is wrong. Why is it so hard to find a vet I can trust?
They only suggestion made was a senior specific cat food (he’s 13). The reason was just because of his age and that he should be on a diet that’s geared towards older cats. Should I ignore this? I’m feeding fancy feast classic pates.
What should I do? Does anyone have any idea on what’s going on with all the water? The combined knowledge here is so incredible that I’m hoping you will once again prove more helpful than the “experts”.
He was doing great OTJ… but for over a month now, his water consumption has been excessive. A lot of days he drinks 14-17 fl oz (at least an entire water bottle). Some days more. He’s constantly flooding the litter box.
I was doing BG checks, but not recording the readings. Recently, I went back to more frequent tests and recording numbers (please see spreadsheet).
Took both cats to new vet for full checkup and blood work on 2/11. Cost me over a grand (which is an entirely different matter that I’m upset about since that seems like a lot more than I should’ve been charged and a lot more than I’m used to). Anyway, after all that, I have no answers. The vet agrees that Bailey is in remission. He gets very stressed at vets but his BG was 170 and fructosamine was 253. T4 was 2.7. We did a cystocentesis as well.
The vet has literally no explanation for the excessive drinking and peeing. No advice or direction was given. Just told me to come back and re-test in a month since certain tests were on the high end of normal. I’m so upset and now don’t know what to do. I can’t afford a second opinion. I will be paying this recent vet bill for months.
How can nothing be wrong? He drinks all day and night. I have to clean the litter box multiple times a day because it gets so full. Plus, my gut tells me something is wrong. Why is it so hard to find a vet I can trust?
They only suggestion made was a senior specific cat food (he’s 13). The reason was just because of his age and that he should be on a diet that’s geared towards older cats. Should I ignore this? I’m feeding fancy feast classic pates.
What should I do? Does anyone have any idea on what’s going on with all the water? The combined knowledge here is so incredible that I’m hoping you will once again prove more helpful than the “experts”.
