Need help for amps running an hour and a half late 355

Status
Not open for further replies.
You haven't failed her! The relion is a great meter (at least I like it) and yes, the strips are affordable. She'll get back on track so don't worry :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Is this it?
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot_2017-02-02-07-45-00.png
    Screenshot_2017-02-02-07-45-00.png
    128.7 KB · Views: 80
I have failed phoebe

You haven't failed her!!!! You are doing everything you can and are a wonderful bean to her! We all have had these little hiccups, but that is all this is, a little hiccup. Plus, how do you think we all learned to keep a spare box of strips around? Exactly! I also have multiple meters because I can't find strips for my main one at a reasonable price at brick-and-mortar stores, so when I ran out on a weekend (because of course I did) I found it was cheaper to just go buy the "starter kit" for an entirely different brand of meter.

There are so many things to learn and so many little tricks to this sugar dance-- you can't learn them all instantly, don't beat yourself up for things like this. Phoebe is feeling a little yucky right now, but she's not in immediate danger. Even if you end up doing a late shot today, it won't take long to get her back on track.
 
On the Relion meters: let me check some old posts, or wait until someone knowledgable answers. I know that some end up better than others-- they're all reliable, but they differ in the size of blood droplet required, and there's one that people report having a lot of error messages (so the strips end up being more expensive per successful test).
 
OK, per old posts: the Confirm and the Micro are the ones people seem to like best. The Prime is the one that seems to generate a lot of error messages, so probably best to avoid that one.

Between the Confirm and Micro I don't know-- I'd probably just go by per-strip cost on the shelf, and if those are the same, go for the one that requires the smallest droplet (prob. the Micro, judging by the name!).
 
Oh Amber, I am sorry if I made you feel badly; that was not my intention. You haven't failed Phoebe; no one thinks that!

I use the Relion Prime meter and the strips are really cheap compared to the other Reion. I get 100 for under $18 I switched from the Relion Micro meter The blood sample for the PRIME needs to be a little bigger but, I haven't found that to be a problem
 
On way. To take husband to work if he gets the lead out!!! Will check when I get to wally world on which one.
 
I use the Relion Prime meter and the strips are really cheap compared to the other Reion. I get 100 for under $18 I switched from the Relion Micro meter The blood sample for the PRIME needs to be a little bigger but, I haven't found that to be a problem

Ah, that's probably the source of the "too many errors" complaints I saw. So, Angela, there's a first-hand report that the Prime can work fine if you are getting reliable blood drops from Phoebe's ears.

Bottom line, I think any of them will work fine.
 
Ok got relion prime, she had not eaten when I just walked in the door. Her bg on this meter is 355..do I shoot this late?
 
Ah, that's probably the source of the "too many errors" complaints I saw. So, Angela, there's a first-hand report that the Prime can work fine if you are getting reliable blood drops from Phoebe's ears.

Bottom line, I think any of them will work fine.
She bleeds easy her ears are always warm. So not a problem.
 
It will take several rounds to get back on schedule if you shoot now, so it will mean several later-than-you-would-like nights in order to monitor her afterwards. I lean towards doing it if you can, just because she's still up in the mid-300's, but I think you could justify a skip if the scheduling would be really hard. @Bobbie And Bubba, what do you think?
 
It will take several rounds to get back on schedule if you shoot now, so it will mean several later-than-you-would-like nights in order to monitor her afterwards. I lean towards doing it if you can, just because she's still up in the mid-300's, but I think you could justify a skip if the scheduling would be really hard. @Bobbie And Bubba, what do you think?
Maybe even half dose?
 
That's another option, just to get some insulin into her. It's not "regulation", exactly-- @Doodles & Karen has tons of experience, not sure she's on, but if so, what do you think about a late, reduced dose now and then back on schedule tonight?
 
To get back on schedule you can shoot 15min early twice a day or 30m. early once a day.
Shooting Schedule_Getting Back On Time

Shooting late acts as a decrease in dose so shooting only 2 units this late does not make sense. Shooting early can act as an increase in dose which is why you have to work your way back.

Does any of this make sense?

One last option is to do an 18hr. So you could check her at +18 from last nights PMPS, give her the full dose. You would skip the shot tomorrow morning and get back on schedule at tomorrow's PMPS shot. Personally I'm not a fan of 18 hour dosing as it screws up the depot for 2-3 days. If you can't get off schedule I'd skip and start tonight.
 
To get back on schedule you can shoot 15min early twice a day or 30m. early once a day.
Shooting Schedule_Getting Back On Time

Shooting late acts as a decrease in dose so shooting only 2 units this late does not make sense. Shooting early can act as an increase in dose which is why you have to work your way back.

Does any of this make sense?

One last option is to do an 18hr. So you could check her at +18 from last nights PMPS, give her the full dose. You would skip the shot tomorrow morning and get back on schedule at tomorrow's PMPS shot. Personally I'm not a fan of 18 hour dosing as it screws up the depot for 2-3 days. If you can't get off schedule I'd skip and start tonight.
Whatever I need to do to give her 3 now I am good with.
 
Ok so your 2 hours off schedule. You can shoot at 9:30 tonight. Tomorrow either shoot 15 min early at AMPS and PMPS or just wait to PMPS and shoot at 9pm. Just an example.

Glad she's eating better today!
 
I apologize and please from the bottom of my heart know our gratitude for you all
There's never a need to apologize here. FD stinks and it's harder on us beans then it is the cats. This is a place to learn FD...which takes time, asking questions, etc. One thing that is guaranteed is that you'll get another chance to do things differently by learning. We rant here, we all understand, and celebrate the little things. It's the only place that we all get excited about our cats poop! Take a deep breath and give Phoebes extra scritches.

Although DH went through 5 strips, hats off for him leaning to test so give him an extra pat on the head and hug later too.
 
One last thing. When your title question is answered, take down the ? mark and edit the title. This way if you have another question later it is up-to-date and others will know to take a look. I try to be on a lot but not always around and there are plenty of experienced people to help.
 
Guess there's another "one more"

You should be posting in the Lantus & Levemir group. We also start a new thread every day and link the thread from the day before. Not many of us check the "main health forum".
 
Guess there's another "one more"

You should be posting in the Lantus & Levemir group. We also start a new thread every day and link the thread from the day before. Not many of us check the "main health forum".
I thought that's where I put it. Lesson learned. I will give my husband something, but not sure pet on the head! :/ but I see what you're saying. I don't know how to add the yesterday's condo to a new one. Will look that up after I catch a nap. Ty for making me feel better
 
@Bobbie And Bubba @Nan & Amber @Doodles & Karen I am sorry for the pity party this morning. I was so pissed at my husband, and scared for phoebe. And then when the reader said error and I didn't know what her numbers were, I panicked. I apologize and please from the bottom of my heart know our gratitude for you all.
No problem, you are entitled to a pity party; we have all had our own so, no need to apologize. I had a chiropractic apt and ust got back, saw that you got the strips and you shot. Hope the pink foam is from what Kris said, irritation from the vomiting but it's worth a call to the vet office.
 
No problem, you are entitled to a pity party; we have all had our own so, no need to apologize. I had a chiropractic apt and ust got back, saw that you got the strips and you shot. Hope the pink foam is from what Kris said, irritation from the vomiting but it's worth a call to the vet office.
Yes talked to vet yesterday she prescribed the pepsid for it. :)
 
As a HCP but a total screwup when it comes to cats, I stopped seeing or listening to the DVM regarding DM treatment. He was wrong and the FDMB "experts" were absolutely right. As far as other medical surgical issues, I always refer to my DVM. However, Elott had no eating, vomiting or diarrhea issues. Obviously Phoebe has other medical issues...Pain? Do cats have side effects (as humans do but not often) like diarrhea and loss of appetite with Gabenten like GI bleeding and other GI issues. Was Tramadol suggested by anyone? My problems were limted to BG so I was simply up all night to check BG every hour or 30 minutes on many many nights. As far as the Pink froth..is it consistent very light pink froth or light blood streaked liquid? I think the FDMB experts can determine what's going on. I only know what it means for humans. Also, I finally switched to Relion and their strips but use "FreeStyle" and Alphtrak strips in my AT meter every month or so just to check the differences. It showed no great differences but it still makes me feel better. You'll be fine if you follow FDMB experts..They saved my ELLIOTT!!!! Also, Zofran is a great drug but some "new" friends claimed to have issues and switched to crushing Tums, pepcid, pepto bismol, Immodium and other over the counter meds with success. My DVM orders Immodium for cats but some of the OTC anti-nausea meds have a little ASA which is not recommended for cats. Because I had no eating issues (just the opposite)..I did buy bags of chicken breasts and kept some cooked at all times to train Elliott to WANT to have his BG checked.. That was suggested here. IT surely worked..Now, after 9 months, Ellott will stand on the kitchen counter and we couldn't figure out WHY...Frank goes over now and squeezes his ear pretending that he is performing a BG test with the strips and meter in Elliott's view. He then gets his chicken pieces. I was doubtful on this suggestion but as said before, FDMB people know exactly what they are talking about. I wish you the best and hope you have the same experience with Phoebe that I have with ELLIOTT!!!! Please note that I have no expertise in CATts overall..as I am sure the others can verify...but what I took the most seriously is how important it was to do those BG regardless if I ever slept again. You are in the best of hands. I just wish that there was just as good of a dog forum like this one!!! BTW..my friend resorted to Marinol to increase his pets appetite that was 0 and boy did it work. I have about 1/2 bottle of 2.5 mg if you ever feel that you might need to try something else...Have a peaceful night!!! Sorry for rambling..I just want to "try" to give back.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top