Need Help Figuring Out PM Dosing

Status
Not open for further replies.

Blamethecats and Hannah

Member Since 2014
Hannah's numbers have been a little better, lately (anti-jinx). But since she's been showing a few lower pre-shot numbers, I'm having trouble figuring out dosing for those blue and low yellow numbers. Yesterday morning, her AMPS was 131 and that was @+12.5. Consequently, I gave no insulin. By +3, she was at 289, and by her PMPS, she managed a 429. I figure that was partly a bounce and partly no insulin.

I've pretty much figured out shooting the mid-to-high yellows, reds, and (ugh) blacks... but these lower numbers... not so much. Could someone have a look at her spreadsheet and give a recommendation, please. I'm holding off for about another half-hour. If I were to go ahead and shoot that 204, does a fat 0.6 U sound reasonable? Or, considering she's obviously on the rise, perhaps 0.8 U?
 
I think either dose would be okay. Just plan to get a test at +2 and before bed?
Thanks, Sue. I'm thinking it'll be the 0.8 U. Tonight, I will also test at +2 and at the usual +3, just before heading off to bed. I hate to give too little insulin, as don't want to deter her progress. On the other hand, I'm nervous about giving too much... for the obvious reasons. I'll decide when I test her in about 20 minutes. Hey, if she needs a PJ party, we'll do that. It's not like it'll be the first time. Thanks for your help!
 
Hi Carole,
Rather than skipping shots entirely, could you give a reduced dose instead? Like half the normal dose or even less? Although she's such a bouncy girl by the looks of her SS, who knows what she would do. Wishing you a good night!
 
Hi Carole,
Rather than skipping shots entirely, could you give a reduced dose instead? Like half the normal dose or even less? Although she's such a bouncy girl by the looks of her SS, who knows what she would do. Wishing you a good night!
Hi, Joan. Yes, I really wanted to shoot that 131, yesterday morning, but I was at a total loss as to how to go about it. Had every intention of shooting tonight's 204 (which ended up being 224 forty minutes later), but needed some "hand holding" and advice before doing so. And I really hate putting the insulin off for too long, as that messes everything up. She sure does do the bouncy thing, doesn't she!? If we could just get the darn bouncing to stop, I think we'd really be getting somewhere with this. Ended up giving 0.8 U, tonight. So, we'll see how this plays out. Have a feeling it wasn't enough, but I'd rather be safe than sorry... especially in the wee hours of the morning. The only thing predictable about Hannah and her numbers is that she's unpredictable. :cat:
 
I would be really nervous shooting 131. Depot insulin users can shoot lower preshots because they know the onset will be slower and the cycle will be flatter. But ProZinc can have a faster onset if it is going to be a very active cycle and it can drop through at least +6

You've been very patient with her bouncing. It does look like she is starting to do better. I'd just continue going slowly and carefully. Her patterns are hard if not impossible to decipher and she always throws in a surprise.
 
I would be really nervous shooting 131.
I'm relieved to hear you say that, as I was "really nervous" about it and that's why I just decided to go with no insulin at all.

Right now, we're at +3 and she's down to 99. I'm staying up for a while to monitor every half hour and am starting to wish I'd gone with the 0.6 U, as that's a 125 point drop in only 3 hours. She'll likely go even lower. Just in case, there's a can of Gravy Lovers sitting on the kitchen counter. She's in a very good mood and happy to have some company at this hour of the night.
 
That's a pretty good drop but she has room. Maybe a small snack of regular food now. Wait for the gravy in case she drops below 50.


Hope you get to sleep tonight!
 
That's a pretty good drop but she has room. Maybe a small snack of regular food now. Wait for the gravy in case she drops below 50.


Hope you get to sleep tonight!
Well, she had a snack of regular FF, but it didn't do much for her. By +4, she was at 74. The old bean jumped the gun and went for the GL (I know, too soon). By +4.5, she's at 105. Will get two more tests in, then decide whether it's worth going to bed before it's almost time to get up in the morning. They really need to offer a droopy-eyed smiley for this type of situation. :facepalm:
 
Grrrrrrrrr! Could have handled this better! Wish she'd get those lower numbers during the daytime when I could think clearly and would feel more comfortable about letting her drop to 50 before spooning out the Gravy Lovers. 542 this AM, so now we start all over again. :( But... she's in a good mood and is begging to go outside for her morning walk in the garden. :cat:
 
No problems. It's always better safe than sorry at night. And regardless, she is Likely to have bounced this am.

She can have lower numbers; she'll have them again. And eventually she will stop bouncing. They all do. I think the record on this forum is 2 years. His mom just kept plugging away and eventually he flattened out and went OTJ.
 
Carole,
Sounds like you did just what you should have done. The fact that Hannah's happy has to count to for something, regardless of wonky numbers!

I would be really nervous shooting 131. Depot insulin users can shoot lower preshots because they know the onset will be slower and the cycle will be flatter. But ProZinc can have a faster onset if it is going to be a very active cycle and it can drop through at least +6

Sue, that makes sense. Good to know.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top