? NEED HELP DOSING

Lori C & Tango

Member Since 2022
Lantus does best with consistency, so with the different dosing it's a little hard to see through the patterns. The increase from 2U to 3U was also much more than we usually recommend. 3U was too high, as indicated by the 78 you got for a preshot.

Remember dose is based on nadir, not preshot.

I would go with 2.5U and shoot than any time above 200. Hold that dose for a week, unless he earns a reduction by dropping below 90. If below 200, stall without feeding and retest in 20 mins. Post on this forum asking for help while you wait.

You'll want to pick a dosing method, but I'll get back to explaining that in the morning
 
Start with a +2 test and go from there. If that's flat or rising, one more check around +5 is ideal since we're not quite sure what dose is right for him yet.

If it shows a drop below 195, I'd ask here or on Facebook for advice (since you already have a post going over there). The size of the drop determines when you'd want to test next, likely +4.
 
Lantus does best with consistency, so with the different dosing it's a little hard to see through the patterns. The increase from 2U to 3U was also much more than we usually recommend. 3U was too high, as indicated by the 78 you got for a preshot.

Remember dose is based on nadir, not preshot.

I would go with 2.5U and shoot than any time above 200. Hold that dose for a week, unless he earns a reduction by dropping below 90. If below 200, stall without feeding and retest in 20 mins. Post on this forum asking for help while you wait.

You'll want to pick a dosing method, but I'll get back to explaining that in the morning
Lantus does best with consistency, so with the different dosing it's a little hard to see through the patterns. The increase from 2U to 3U was also much more than we usually recommend. 3U was too high, as indicated by the 78 you got for a preshot.

Remember dose is based on nadir, not preshot.

I would go with 2.5U and shoot than any time above 200. Hold that dose for a week, unless he earns a reduction by dropping below 90. If below 200, stall without feeding and retest in 20 mins. Post on this forum asking for help while you wait.

You'll want to pick a dosing method, but I'll get back to explaining that in the morning
Ok, we'll go with 2.5. Understand dosing method somewhat, but could use a better explanation. Thanks!
 
What dose depends on the method you follow. If TR I would stick with 3.0. If SLGS then 2.75. There’s no reason to go down a full .50.
 
There currently aren't enough tests for TR, hence my SLGS assumption as well as more conservative 2.5U recommendation. I don't think a big deal between 2.5U vs 2.75U.

SLGS is required if a cat is getting any dry or high carb food. 0.25U reductions are taken any time BG goes below 90. Doses are held for a week before re-evaluating; if you're able to get varying tests in during the week, that's usually enough data to make a decision. If not able to test much, then you'd do a curve before making a decision.

TR is only done if a cat is completely low carb wet food. At least one additional test per cycle (aside from preshots) is required, both day and night. Most of us do a "before bed" around +2 or +3 to see if we maybe need to get back up and test again. You are currently missing nighttime tests most nights, and sometimes day ones (not a criticism, just explaining why I had to assume SLGS, and what requirements are if you wanted to follow TR). Reductions are taken any time they go below 68 on an AlphaTrak. Doses are held anywhere from 3-7 days depending on data.

So, to Elise's point - if you want to do TR, by the book you could stick with 3U. No harm in baselining off 2.75U either if you're more comfortable with that.

If sticking with SLGS, you could go with 2.75U if you wanted, but the lack of nighttime data plus some of the trends is what made me lean a more conservative 2.5U to get you something consistently shootable.
 
Since you are feeding wet food only according to your your signature you can follow either method. Two tests are required every cycle with TR. if Tango is dropping at night she will likely bounce and remain in high numbers. A +2 at night would help. If lower than the pmps would it be possible to set an alarm for another test between +5-7 to see the night nadir? Whichever method you follow do take a reduction.
 
Since you are feeding wet food only according to your your signature you can follow either method. Two tests are required every cycle with TR. if Tango is dropping at night she will likely bounce and remain in high numbers. A +2 at night would help. If lower than the pmps would it be possible to set an alarm for another test between +5-7 to see the night nadir? Whichever method you follow do take a reduction.

ADMIN / TIFFMAXEE TESTED AT 8:45AM. Tango is at 148 Alpha Trak. Holding food for 20 and testing again. I read comments re: TR and SLGS. Souinds like TR is the better one? He is only eating wet food. Souinds like you're saying stick with 2.75 or 3 with TR. After a 148 reading still think that's right dosage?
 
TESTED AGAIN- STILL AT 148 ON ALPHA TRAK. NEED GO GIVE INSULIN. Not sure what dosage to give as I feel like I'm getting different info (maybe I'm just panicking). Going with 2.5 unless I hear back in the next couple of minutes.
 
He has a tendency to nadir at the end of the cycle, so I won't be surprised to see him go higher. I would stay with 2.75U or 3U and shoot that dose CONSISTENTLY.
With so many changes to the dose based on preshots, it is hard to say which dose is leading to which numbers.

When you can monitor, you can shoot any number over 90 with SLGS and 68 with TR (on a pet meter).
 
When you pick a dosing method please add it to your signature and spreadsheet
To add to your signature tap on your name and then tap on signature and add it then Save

SLGS: You hold a dose for 7 days (unless a reduction is earned). You decrease the dose when the BG falls below 90. The aim of this protocol is to keep the cat in the 90-150 range. This is more suited for caregivers who can't test as much as TR requires. You do a weekly curve with SLGS.

TR is a more aggressive protocol with increases as often as every 3-5 days. Reductions are earned when the BG falls below 50. The aim is to keep the cat in the range of 50-100 (which is the normal BG range for cats). To follow TR, you would need to get at least one more test per cycle in addition to the pre-shot one i.e. 2 tests per cycle or 4 tests per day. You would also need to be feeding only LC canned food and no dry food.

You need to be getting some note tests in after the PM shot like a +4 and +6
Next night maybe a +5 and a +7
You want to switch them up
 
Last edited:
He has a tendency to nadir at the end of the cycle, so I won't be surprised to see him go higher. I would stay with 2.75U or 3U and shoot that dose CONSISTENTLY.
With so many changes to the dose based on preshots, it is hard to say which dose is leading to which numbers.

When you can monitor, you can shoot any number over 90 with SLGS and 68 with TR (on a pet meter).
Thanks Bhooma. We went with 2.5 - saw your reply after shot. This is just so overwhelming to me. Cried this morning. First time. He goes low and afraid to give too much insulin. Then we give less and he goes up.
 
When you pick a dosing method please add it to your signature and spreadsheet
To add to your signature tap on your name and then tap on signature and add it then Save

SLGS: You hold a dose for 7 days (unless a reduction is earned). You decrease the dose when the BG falls below 90. The aim of this protocol is to keep the cat in the 90-150 range. This is more suited for caregivers who can't test as much as TR requires. You do a weekly curve with SLGS.

TR is a more aggressive protocol with increases as often as every 3-5 days. Reductions are earned when the BG falls below 50. The aim is to keep the cat in the range of 50-100 (which is the normal BG range for cats). To follow TR, you would need to get at least one more test per cycle in addition to the pre-shot one i.e. 2 tests per cycle or 4 tests per day. You would also need to be feeding only LC canned food and no dry food.

You need to be getting some note tests in after the PM shot like a +4 and +6
Next night maybe a +5 and a +7
You want to switch them up

Got it. Thanks!
 
Next time you post on the lantus board this is how we post
We do a new post everyday
Date, Tango AMPS # and any other tests you do after that like the BG number @+2 ,etc
To go back and add those tests to your title look to the right and you will see the word Thread Tools tap on that then tap on Edit Title , add those tests and tap save
You can continue with her PMPS numbers on the same title :cat:
We also link your previous days post to the new one
 
Thanks Bhooma. We went with 2.5 - saw your reply after shot. This is just so overwhelming to me. Cried this morning. First time. He goes low and afraid to give too much insulin. Then we give less and he goes up.

It is overwhelming and scary at first. I was panicky and cried many times until I began learning the ropes. But it does get better. Listen to the experts. They will help you. Keep up the good work and soon it will be better.

To get the attention of experts, tag them using @. @tiffmaxee @Bandit's Mom etc. Use the question mark prefix in your title. I feel for you and while not an expert, will certainly help you where I can.
 
Thanks Bhooma. We went with 2.5 - saw your reply after shot. This is just so overwhelming to me. Cried this morning. First time. He goes low and afraid to give too much insulin. Then we give less and he goes up.
The beauty of Lantus is the lovely flat cycles it gives you when you shoot a low preshot. Lower numbers and especially preshots are indeed scary when you are new to them. Just because he falls 200 points when he starts in the 400s, does not mean he will fall as much when you shoot low.

Pick a dose you want 2.5, 2.75 or 3 and shoot the same dose for 3-5 days - irrespective of the preshot. Then we will have a better idea of which is a good dose for him.
 
Back
Top