Daddy Jack's Mommy (GA)
Member Since 2019
Edited to add: I removed all dry food and have been giving him only FF since Sunday night (a full 5 days now).
Edited again to add: I just gave Jack his first shot of half a unit. When is it OK to increase it to one unit (providing his BG is 200)?
Hello All. Jack was diagnosed last Friday, and it was confirmed on Sunday with a fructosamine test. His BG was over 400 and his fructosamine was over 700. I removed dry food and have given him only FF Classics. His insulin just came today, so he’s had no injections yet. I tried all week long to get his BG, but was unable to draw enough blood to get a reading. I finally did it this morning, and then again right now! This morning, it was 155. Right now, it was 222. The vet wants him on 2 units twice a day. I’ve read here that I should go slow and start low. What should I give him after I feed him now? Will .5 unit be sufficient to begin, or should I start with 1 unit?
I’ve yet to do a spreadsheet, but I’ll figure it out this weekend and hopefully have it up in the next 2-3 days.
I’m so grateful that I found my way here.
~ Carolyn
Edited again to add: I just gave Jack his first shot of half a unit. When is it OK to increase it to one unit (providing his BG is 200)?
Hello All. Jack was diagnosed last Friday, and it was confirmed on Sunday with a fructosamine test. His BG was over 400 and his fructosamine was over 700. I removed dry food and have given him only FF Classics. His insulin just came today, so he’s had no injections yet. I tried all week long to get his BG, but was unable to draw enough blood to get a reading. I finally did it this morning, and then again right now! This morning, it was 155. Right now, it was 222. The vet wants him on 2 units twice a day. I’ve read here that I should go slow and start low. What should I give him after I feed him now? Will .5 unit be sufficient to begin, or should I start with 1 unit?
I’ve yet to do a spreadsheet, but I’ll figure it out this weekend and hopefully have it up in the next 2-3 days.
I’m so grateful that I found my way here.
~ Carolyn
Last edited:
