? Need help confirming tonight’s dose with low numbers

Sara and Mr. Kitty

Member Since 2018
We finally saw blue today! This is the first time Mr. Kitty’s dropped to a somewhat normal BG since September and we’re ecstatic. We switched to Lantus after remission and from what I’ve read we keep the same dose based on his nadir, not PMPS. Problem is is that he‘s been going lower with every test today and looks like the nadir was at +10 so that‘s raising my anxiety and concern. We increased his dose this morning and wanted to ask if there was an expert who could help us with how to proceed. Stay at the dose of 1.75U right? We have plenty of test strips and a hypo kit to make sure he’s okay. Thanks for helping.
 
It looks like your last test was at +11. You'll want to test at your usual pre-shot time. If you have any question about shooting after your pre-shot test, DO NOT FEED MR. KITTY.

What we typically look for is that numbers are rising at pre-shot. If you are not comfortable with shooting based on the PMPS, post and ask for input. You will want to stall so it's important to not feed your cat. If you feed Mr. Kitty, his numbers will rise due to the food and you won't have an accurate way of determining if numbers are rising on their own or if the numbers are influenced by food.

Also, as an FYI, in the future, don't start a separate thread when you have a question. Because this Board is so big, you can change your subject like on your existing thread so all of the day's information is in one place. (The basic idea is one thread per cat per day.)
 
We finally saw blue today! This is the first time Mr. Kitty’s dropped to a somewhat normal BG since September and we’re ecstatic. We switched to Lantus after remission and from what I’ve read we keep the same dose based on his nadir, not PMPS. Problem is is that he‘s been going lower with every test today and looks like the nadir was at +10 so that‘s raising my anxiety and concern. We increased his dose this morning and wanted to ask if there was an expert who could help us with how to proceed. Stay at the dose of 1.75U right? We have plenty of test strips and a hypo kit to make sure he’s okay. Thanks for helping.
Yes...these are great numbers. Under SLGS, you hold this dose for a full week unless he drops below 90. If he drops below 90, decrease the dose by 0.25u at the next shot. If he doesn’t drop below 90, then you would continue on this dose for a week, run a curve, and then see where he is based on the guidance provided by SLGS.
 
It looks like your last test was at +11. You'll want to test at your usual pre-shot time. If you have any question about shooting after your pre-shot test, DO NOT FEED MR. KITTY.

What we typically look for is that numbers are rising at pre-shot. If you are not comfortable with shooting based on the PMPS, post and ask for input. You will want to stall so it's important to not feed your cat. If you feed Mr. Kitty, his numbers will rise due to the food and you won't have an accurate way of determining if numbers are rising on their own or if the numbers are influenced by food.

Also, as an FYI, in the future, don't start a separate thread when you have a question. Because this Board is so big, you can change your subject like on your existing thread so all of the day's information is in one place. (The basic idea is one thread per cat per day.)
Hello! Thank you for clarifying the thread rules as I was confused and not sure how to post. Mr. Kitty hasn’t eaten for over 2 hours and we’ll definitely get a PMPS test and report back if needed.
 
Back
Top