Kris & Teasel
Member Since 2016
Hello all,
I've been lurking here since late January 2016 when my cat, Teasel, was first diagnosed. He was on Lantus at 1.0 units BID for 2 months (unsuccessful - huge deltas, bouncing, then high flat curve, no ability to fraction dose properly), suffered an $$$$ DKA at the end of March 2016 and has been on ProZinc since the beginning of April 2016. I've been working hard at getting him regulated through bouncing episodes and insulin resistance due to glucose toxicity. I'm doing home testing (Alphatrak 2 meter) but not according to the FDMB suggested protocol - that will change. My vet has been as helpful as she can be but I need more "handholding" now that we seem to be getting somewhere. Here's the general outline:
I've been lurking here since late January 2016 when my cat, Teasel, was first diagnosed. He was on Lantus at 1.0 units BID for 2 months (unsuccessful - huge deltas, bouncing, then high flat curve, no ability to fraction dose properly), suffered an $$$$ DKA at the end of March 2016 and has been on ProZinc since the beginning of April 2016. I've been working hard at getting him regulated through bouncing episodes and insulin resistance due to glucose toxicity. I'm doing home testing (Alphatrak 2 meter) but not according to the FDMB suggested protocol - that will change. My vet has been as helpful as she can be but I need more "handholding" now that we seem to be getting somewhere. Here's the general outline:
- He began at 1.0 unit of PZ twice a day and has worked up to 3.6 units twice a day - probably needed to clear longstanding glucose toxicity.
- I use U100 syringes so that I can change doses by small fractions.
- His daily routine is very regular: he eats only low carb wet food (DM pate and a little Fancy Feast or Friskies low carb) in set amounts at scheduled meal times. I have 2 other cats so no free feeding.
- He's been on 3.6 units BID for almost 3 weeks, getting tested occasionally, had one full BG curve done by me 2 weeks ago. This showed good duration, a nadir of 4.4 (79) at +6, and an average BG over 12 hours of 11.8 (212). Delta was a bit high at 12 (216).
- Yesterday he was in some very good numbers most of the day, ranging from 5.7 (103) at +3 to 7.3 (131) at +11. However, his +4.5 value was too low (2.9 on AlphaTrak - 62 in your units). Because he was only at 7.3 (131) at +11, I fed him, waited an hour, tested and saw a value of 11.9 (214). I gave him a slightly reduced dose of 3.2 units but wasn't confident about this. I tested at +1 after this dose and it was 16.4 (295). At +4 it was 11.6 (209). Crossed my fingers and went to bed.
- When I tested him before feeding/shooting this morning his AMPS was 6.9 (124) so I withheld his injection, as per the ProZinc "protocol". I'm hoping his insulin needs are dropping but don't feel confident to navigate this territory. I need some coaching. I also am a newbie at posting on a forum, setting up a spreadsheet, etc.
- It is now 2 hours post a.m. feeding and his BG is 15.2 (274) with no a.m. insulin given.
