? Need help. 6/4/24 WATSON AMPS 400+ Libre:270 meter

Rosie Lass

Member Since 2024
Watson’s insulin was increased .25 on Tuesday night bringing him to 2.25. It appears he had another low event at 3 o’clock in the morning when I was not awake to test him and his libra did not send me a message (I did see that it did not go below 50). Now I am wondering, should I increase another .25 even though I just increased Tuesday night?

upload_2024-6-4_9-37-18.png

I’m on my phone so I can’t attach my previous entry. Will do that later.
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-6-4_9-37-18.png
    upload_2024-6-4_9-37-18.png
    88.3 KB · Views: 147
When you are asking for suggestions on dosing, make sure your spreadsheet is up to date first.

As Elise said, with SLGS you hold the dose for 7 days, unless they go below 90, in which case you decrease by 0.25 units.
 
Here’s your previous post.
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/search/71794359/

With SLGS you hold the dose for 7 days. Why are you considering an increase after just 3 cycles?
Here’s your previous post.
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/search/71794359/

With SLGS you hold the dose for 7 days. Why are you considering an increase after just 3 cycles?
Sorry, I meant a decrease of .25 because he went below 90. I didn’t know if I should decrease so soon after just increasing.
 
When you are asking for suggestions on dosing, make sure your spreadsheet is up to date first.

As Elise said, with SLGS you hold the dose for 7 days, unless they go below 90, in which case you decrease by 0.25 units.
My spreadsheet is up to date ??
He did go but below 90 so should I reduce by .25 even though I just increased by .25 On Sunday night?
 
I don't see that on the spreadsheet.

If you are following SLGS, anytime they go below 90 you reduce by 0.25 units immediately.
@Wendy&Neko @tiffmaxee . I did not put that on the spreadsheet because it wasn’t a reading done by me, it was at 3am. I guess Libra fills in the blanks during the night. I do my last reading batween 12-1am and my first reading around 9-9-:30am. Everything in between is Libre’s guess?
 
What was the bg at 3 a.m.? The Libre reads lower than a hand held often but since you are following SLGS if under 90 a reduction was earned. As Wendy said, every cycle where the bg is under 90 with SLGS you reduce the dose at the next cycle by .25. It doesn’t matter how long your cat has been on the dose.
 
What was the bg at 3 a.m.? The Libre reads lower than a hand held often but since you are following SLGS if under 90 a reduction was earned. As Wendy said, every cycle where the bg is under 90 with SLGS you reduce the dose at the next cycle by .25. It doesn’t matter how long your cat has been on the dose.
According to the Libre pix I attached my guess would be 60. Since it wasn’t a reading actually taken by me I don't get an actual number or time.
This is all very confusing to me because on Sunday @Wendy&Neko said I had kept him at 2 units too long and to raise by .25. Now everyone is saying reduce back to 2 units.
 
A cat's pancreas can heal over time, then get again tired over time. The dose can go up and go down as a result.

Libre readings are OK to put in the spreadsheet. Especially important to see them if they show the nadirs that your testing with the handheld does not show. It is important to indicate some how which tests are Libre and which are not.
 
A cat's pancreas can heal over time, then get again tired over time. The dose can go up and go down as a result.

Libre readings are OK to put in the spreadsheet. Especially important to see them if they show the nadirs that your testing with the handheld does not show. It is important to indicate some how which tests are Libre and which are not.
I’ll start adding some overnight numbers in the future. I always note “meter” when I use that; otherwise it’s all Libre numbers. Thank you for your help in understanding this.
 
@Wendy&Neko @tiffmaxee

when I start adding in the overnight numbers that I am not physically taking, but that libra is guesstimating, no how should I enter them to different differentiate between the numbers I have actually scanned myself?
Thanks again for all of your help and advice while I’m figuring this out!
 
Don’t worry about estimating the night bg. Seeing those bg numbers if a lot lower help explain what’s happening to the bg. Without those lower numbers we might suggest an increase rather than a decrease Cats do often go lower at night. I had lots of pj parties as when Max dropped it could last for hours!
 
Back
Top