Need eyes maybe? 11/19 Ming PMPS = 337, +2.5 = 130, +3=103, +4=70, +5 = 59

Crista & Ming

Member Since 2018
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/11-18-ming-amps-410-1-369-5-286-7-301.206666/

PMPS = 337

I was thinking of increasing tonight but my mom can't monitor him tomorrow in the AM so the increase will have to wait until Wednesday night.

I was in surgery today with one of the vets (not my main vet) who has seen and treated Ming before. I mentioned the acro test and she said, "Yeah! Let's do it!" But she only works 2-3 days a week and she herself doesn't know where to send it or how to do the test lololol! But at least I have one vet on board!
 
She just has to pull the blood and then send it to Michigan State University (the only place that does the testing)

Here's some of the info on the IGF-1 test

And as long as you're paying to ship, you might want to get the IAA test done too. (enter 20031 and "feline" for the details) Some cats are both acro and IAA

Thanks! I told her vaguely that they test for IGF and it gets sent to Michigan. I was going to go dig up some more concrete sources to show her and yay! Just what I needed!
 
+2.5=130

WELL, I'm glad I didn't increase tonight.

Oh Ming... Work starts a little later for me tomorrow so that's a plus.
 
+3 = 103

Half an hour later...

I don't want to feed anything right now... I want to see what happens.. I'll test in another half hour.
 
I'd probably go ahead and give him a small low carb snack.....you want to encourage him to surf

Dropping that much, that fast may cause him to bounce no matter what you do
 
Last edited:
Okay. Yeah he's actually finishing up his +2 snack right now. It's LC with SEB. I gave him a +2 "snack" because I sometimes find he's still hungry after he eats his regular AM/PM meal and I just assume it's because I don't feed enough at AM/PM even though he gets 3 oz cans. He eats a lot...
 
What’s the rush Ming?:eek:

Let me know if the vet has a problem sending things to MSU. I had my vet deal with a local lab that had an account with MSU and even listed the tests in their catalog. I made it easy for her. Plus I know Canada West has an account there, cause Neko’s blood got sent there for some thyroid tests.

I agree, give him a couple tsps of LC to slow him down.
 
Last edited:
Let me know if the vet has a problem sending things to MSU. I had my vet deal with a local lab that had an account with MSU and even listed the tests in their catalog. I made it easy for her. Plus I know Canada West has an account there, cause Neko’s blood got sent their for some thyroid tests.

Ohhh good to know! Thanks :)

I agree, give him a couple tsps of LC to slow him down.

I honestly don't even know if LC food does anything for his BGs. Sometimes I suspect feeding him HC food doesn't raise his BG like it would for a normal cat. Or maybe he's got enough insulin to push down whatever effects food has on him. o_Oo_Oo_Oo_O
 
Okay I ended up doing a 15 minute test because he was hanging out at the water bowl but there was no change. So I think I'll test in another half an hour which is in 15 mins .. if that makes sense. Meaning I'll do a +3.75 test.

Edit: his water bowl hang out only lasted a minute and then he went to run around and play with his catnip toys.
 
ECID on how sensitive each cat is to carbs. For Neko, a 16-17% was plenty, some cats need 25% carbs. Also, when you give carbs us a factor. More carbs are needed earlier in the cycle when the insulin is strongest.

You could wait half an hour from now, maybe more if no change in the last 15.
 
No....We hold off on HC until they drop below 50 on a human meter when you're doing TR.

Will he eat as much as you'll give him? Like if you give him another teaspoon or two of LC, will he eat again in 30 minutes if he continues to drop?
 
Mmm... he just ate a big snack so I don't really want to fill him up with food. I feel okay with waiting another 15 minutes (it'll be 30 minutes since his last test) to see where he is and then feed accordingly.
 
+4.5= 59

I feel like waiting another half hour until I do anything :smuggrin:... let me know if you think it's a bad idea. He's walking around and being nosy so I'm not concerned.
 
He's been getting both the past few days but FF today until his +2 snack which was 1/4 can of FF and about a 1 oz of raw freeze dried with SEB.
 
So surfing at 59? That's good, hopefully he's bottomed out. Ideally you'd like to get a couple tests in a row of him rising, without influence of carbs, before calling it a night. So you can try going without the snack this time and see what he does.
 
Okay! I'll do tests every 30 mins until he's definitely rising?

Since my mom can only do a +2 and +6 or +7 tomorrow, should we feed him a higher carb (LC w/ some HC mixed in) meal in the AM? Or feed as normal? If she gets a low +2, I'd probably feel better if she just gave him some HC until she can get home to test him.
 
There some chance he'll bounce, but maybe he'll surprise you. I would feed normal at AMPS, then based on the +2 decide if she needs to leave HC out for him.
 
PLeeeeeeaaase don't bounce, Ming! Just be beautiful :p

I was just telling the vet today that Ming had one night where he had a beautiful curve and how exasperated I was with him that he decided to kill it with bouncing. I guess he's showing off again tonight.
 
Woohoo! Attaboy Ming! Looks like you got this tonight Crista. I'm signing off.

Steep drops can also cause bounces. He sure did that tonight.
 
Look at what Ming can do. Well done Crista, look where you got her.

Antech labs (most vets in the States use them) will send it to MSU. That's how Ollies was done. If you go to MSM website you can print off the forms and instructions. I did that with Smokey so vet couldn't tell me "can't find how to do it". You can even have mailer sent to you so vet has it.
 
Back
Top