Need dosing help!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Jack's yesterday viewtopic.php?f=24&t=117023

For his AMPS he just tested at 238. I haven't shot yet and reduced his dose to 2 units last night. But with him being a decent number and having dropped so terribly low yesterday, I'm afraid to even shoot 2 units. I leave for work and will be gone for the whole day, no chance to come home on lunch to do a spot check. What do you all think? Maybe just 1 unit for safety?
 
Hope this is in time. I think one unit is good. It may not be enough, but better too high when you aren't home....if you were going to be around, I'd try 1.5
 
Thanks Sue. I shot the 1 unit shortly after your reply. I feel much better know that he probably won't tank while I'm at work for the day :)
 
Hi Janell,

I was looking at Jack's spreadsheet. His numbers are looking pretty good. Nice amps the last few cycles, blues midcycle. I am not sure if the pmps is a bounce or if the insulin is wearing off. Maybe a curve this week will give you some info?

Some people with consistent lower/higher preshot numbers try 11.5/12.5 cycles - shooting a little later for the lower preshot and a little earlier for the higher preshot. Not sure if it would work for you and Jack, but if it is a consistent pattern, it might be something to try?

The other possibility, if the curve shows him low midcycle setting up a bounce, is to shoot a little less for the yellows while keeping the 2 units for the higher?
 
Hi Sue sorry for the late response. I have tried the 11.5/12.5 shooting pattern and it seems to help a bit. I've been busy at work so it's been hard to get his PM shot done at 11.5. The problem I'm having now is that he is high and flat. So I'm increasing his dose back to 2.5 units :( Scary for me but hopefully it drops him a little. I'm also checking with vet to see if he needs a new vial. This has been open for 2.5 months and I wonder if it's lost its potency...I will find out shortly.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top