Need dosing help ASAP please

Heather & Hwy 99

Member Since 2020
I am not sure how/if I should refer to yesterdays thread as this is sort of a continuation but I am shooting low again this morning after having skipped yesterday AM shot entirely, and reducing PM shot-this morning he is 72 low again, and I already messed up and out of habit I started feeding him (normally I would use that time to get his shot ready but came here instead) so where I should have apparently stalled and tried again, I fed him and now I dont know (again) whether to give insulin...? Please advise if you can!
He did have a small amount of w/d kibble at 630am, I tested at 9am

Also, my life long voraciously hungry cat is hardly interested in food the last two days, I can get him to eat "enough" like 1/4 pate, or 1/8 cup w/d kibble (for his IBS and yes I have been trying to transition off) but I am not sure if this behavior is reflective of anything to do with his insulin-specifically his reduced dose maybe?

6am feed w/d kibble (not ideal but due to my health limitations, I basically roll over and pour their breakfast until I can get up)
9am test (using small amount of squeeze cheese to keep him still)
Feed pate, give insulin (when numbers indicate I should)
1-2 pm attempt test
feed combo wet/dry
9pm test
Feed pate, give insulin
I have attempted many tests thru out day to try to get data/patterns which are reflected in my spreadsheet but its been a challenge

THANK YOU
 
That's too low for a newbie to shoot. Typically with newbies we say not to shoot anything under 200.

Try to test again today and see where he's at....the other thing is we try to figure out how low a dose is taking him.

In order to refer to yesterday's thread you'll want to find what you wrote yesterday and copy/paste the url from that thread into the top of this post.

It looks like he's a bit eratic out of the gate...personally I'd play it safe here and see what his other tests look like today...and as miserable as this sounds, please try to get another test later in the evening - possibly before you go to bed to see if that PM dose is taking him down as well...

Have you read the stickies at the top of this forum for information on which dosing method you're going to follow? Most newbies start with SLGS - it's slower but does allow you to adjust doses slowly and until you get your feet under you with all of this is probably the way to go...

Let's see what some of the other experienced folks say.

Welcome!!! Your kitty is gorgeous! Is his name Hwy99 ?
 
Since you are using the AT, and feeding some dry food, your cat has earned a 0.25 units dose reduction by going under 90. And an experienced person wouldn't shoot below 90 either. Take the day off.

Let's take the dose down to 1.25 units next and see if that gets you to a dose you can shoot twice a day. Just skip the morning shot, and try 1.25 units tonight.
 
Thank you, I just updated his SS to reflect (I'm not getting as much data as I'd like as we are both struggling with the ear pricking process despite watching literally every single video and tip-Im often letting him go after multiple attempts to avoid further stress/association) I messed up AGAIN and forgot to take his food away and caught him eating it mid way thru the 2 hour window I was trying to get data for so I am not sure how much that affects this number but he just now was 93...I will keep trying and updating and try to have better data before pm
 
That's too low for a newbie to shoot. Typically with newbies we say not to shoot anything under 200.

Try to test again today and see where he's at....the other thing is we try to figure out how low a dose is taking him.

In order to refer to yesterday's thread you'll want to find what you wrote yesterday and copy/paste the url from that thread into the top of this post.

It looks like he's a bit eratic out of the gate...personally I'd play it safe here and see what his other tests look like today...and as miserable as this sounds, please try to get another test later in the evening - possibly before you go to bed to see if that PM dose is taking him down as well...

Have you read the stickies at the top of this forum for information on which dosing method you're going to follow? Most newbies start with SLGS - it's slower but does allow you to adjust doses slowly and until you get your feet under you with all of this is probably the way to go...

Let's see what some of the other experienced folks say.

Welcome!!! Your kitty is gorgeous! Is his name Hwy99 ?
thank you! yes he is my foster failure formerly known at "the hwy 99 cat" because you know not naming them is supposed to help not get attached LOL I am still trying to figure out how/where to respond-do I do individually or at bottom of thread? I have been trying to read/process everything but I have several health conditions that create significant cognitive impairment and my brain is like a colander unable to retain much...I just updated his ss, thank you so much for the suggestions
 
Heather hi, if you are going to stay on the lantus forum, take a look at mine or anyone else's that is using lantus
Do you see how we put at the top the date, then our cats name and then AMPS and what the BG was , then when you test again you go to where it says Thread Tools it's all the way to the right hand side, hit that and then hit edit title
So you would put in the next reading you did look at mine
Here is an Example 5-31-20 HWY 99 AMPS- 80/77@+2/74@+6/PMPS-85/80@+4/79@+8 then make sure you hit the word SAVE
Do you sort of understand
Now after you would do this for the date of 5-31-20
You would go to that post you did for that day and at the very top
where you see the picture of the cat you will see it will say
www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads etc and the date of 5-31-20
You put your finger on that and press down it will say copy
You will copy it and then go back to the lantus forum and upper right hand corner it says Post a new thread
Hit that put in the next date which would be 6-1-20 HWY 99 Acutie then the BG number hit save
Then underneath that you will press you finger down and the word paste will appear hit that and the previous days post will appear
So if we want to look at your previous day we just have to tap on that
You can proceed to write whatever you want to

Do you understand

You do this for every day on the lantus forum
Take a look at mine
You will see it on mine
Let me know if you understand OK
When you want to answer someone's questions just hit the word reply hst is at the end of the persons post to you, also hit the word like so we know you read it
Hwy 99 sure is a cutie:cat:
 
Last edited:
Heather hi, if you are going to stay on the lantus forum, take a look at mine or anyone else's that is using lantus
Do you see how we put at the top the date, then our cats name and then AMPS and what the BG was , then when you test again you go to where it says Thread Tools it's all the way to the right hand side, hit that and then hit edit title
So you would put in the next reading you did look at mine
Here is an Example 5-31-20 HWY 99 AMPS- 80/77@+2/74@+6/PMPS-85/80@+4/79@+8 then make sure you hit the word SAVE
Do you sort of understand
Now after you would do this for the date of 5-31-20
You would go to that post you did for that day and at the very top
where you see the picture of the cat you will see it will say
www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads etc and the date of 5-31-20
You put your finger on that and press down it will say copy
You will copy it and then go back to the lantus forum and upper right hand corner it says Post a new thread
Hit that put in the next date which would be 6-1-20 HWY 99 Acutie then the BG number hit save
Then underneath that you will press you finger down and the word paste will appear hit that and the previous days post will appear
So if we want to look at your previous day we just have to tap on that
You can proceed to write whatever you want to

Do you understand

You do this for every day on the lantus forum
Take a look at mine
You will see it on mine
Let me know if you understand OK
When you want to answer someone's questions just hit the word reply hst is at the end of the persons post to you, also hit the word like so we know you read it
Hwy 99 sure is a cutie:cat:
thank you! and honestly no ): I have taken a break twice and come back to try to read/understand this, and I see you went to great lengths and I appreciate the time you invested into it but my health issues/cognitive impairments/medications are making everything so much harder-its extremely frustrating/embarrassing and I hope you all will have patience with me as I am not trying to be lazy or take shortcuts-I literally just cant process or retain very much but I will keep this bookmarked and keep trying-thank you!
 
Heather, I will try to break this down to bite size bits. On this forum we do one post per day. Tomorrow if you start a new post, just make sure you include the date (June 1) and Hwy 99's name on the Subject line. That way it makes it easier for us to try to find the most recent info on you kitty. We'll worry about the rest later.
 
Heather, I will try to break this down to bite size bits. On this forum we do one post per day. Tomorrow if you start a new post, just make sure you include the date (June 1) and Hwy 99's name on the Subject line. That way it makes it easier for us to try to find the most recent info on you kitty. We'll worry about the rest later.
Thank you Wendy for , I probably shouldn't have gotten into such detail, like you said we can help her out with all that later:cat:
 
thank you! and honestly no ): I have taken a break twice and come back to try to read/understand this, and I see you went to great lengths and I appreciate the time you invested into it but my health issues/cognitive impairments/medications are making everything so much harder-its extremely frustrating/embarrassing and I hope you all will have patience with me as I am not trying to be lazy or take shortcuts-I literally just cant process or retain very much but I will keep this bookmarked and keep trying-thank you!
Heather please don't be embarrassed and of course we will all have patience with you, we can take one day at time. We are all here to help you :cat:
 
Back
Top