Need dosing help asap - again - and again!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Squalliesmom

Member Since 2015
Squallie's PMPS tonight is 207. He has been running consideraby higher lately, and now I have no idea how much insulin to give him. He's still on Vetsulin and he's been getting 2.75 U but that would be way too much tonight. Please help!

Thanks!
 
Give a dose you feel comfortable with. And remember, if he would drop low at some point, you know what to do to bring him up. He'll be fine, either way
 
I wish I could help--I was only using vetsulin a short time...
from his ss his numbers look good--
He used to do really well on Vetsulin, I don't know what happened that changed everything and made his numbers skyrocket. It's been a real issue since the beginning of the year, trying to keep him out of the 400-500s.
 
He used to do really well on Vetsulin, I don't know what happened that changed everything and made his numbers skyrocket. It's been a real issue since the beginning of the year, trying to keep him out of the 400-500s.

no changes?? no infection?
we were on it when Dre was first diagnosed and for less than a month.... looking back his numbers weren't that bad on it but he was just so sad I couldn't stand seeing him so depressed. We finally had a few low pre shots on lantus and it did keep him pretty steady (which shocked me as he usually has nadir at +3 and starts heading North)....
How long have you been on vetsulin? Maybe he heard you talking about lantus?:rolleyes:
 
no changes?? no infection?
we were on it when Dre was first diagnosed and for less than a month.... looking back his numbers weren't that bad on it but he was just so sad I couldn't stand seeing him so depressed. We finally had a few low pre shots on lantus and it did keep him pretty steady (which shocked me as he usually has nadir at +3 and starts heading North)....
How long have you been on vetsulin? Maybe he heard you talking about lantus?:rolleyes:
No changes, no infection, been checked out for almost everything. I can't figure it out. This happened once before but that time he had a UTI, and I was able to get him back on track in about two weeks; this has been two months. Just these past 36 or so hours I am starting to see a slight improvement, fingers and paws crossed!

Lantus is some powerful magic if just the threat of it can bring down his BG, woo hoo, lol! :D
 
No changes, no infection, been checked out for almost everything. I can't figure it out. This happened once before but that time he had a UTI, and I was able to get him back on track in about two weeks; this has been two months. Just these past 36 or so hours I am starting to see a slight improvement, fingers and paws crossed!

Lantus is some powerful magic if just the threat of it can bring down his BG, woo hoo, lol! :D
I am starting to think I need to be a little more aggressive with my tight regulation on lantus... it is just difficult when I am working-
I really think if I was a independently wealthy person Dre would be in remission !:D:D
 
He used to do really well on Vetsulin, I don't know what happened that changed everything and made his numbers skyrocket. It's been a real issue since the beginning of the year, trying to keep him out of the 400-500s.
I'm sorry to hear Squallie Bear isn't doing as well as before. He was the poster cat for Vetsulin! If you want to try Lantus, there are cheaper places to get it than a vet office (you probably already know this). It might be time for a change if his numbers don't settle down soon. Either way, you know you have lots of support here. :bighug:
 
I'm sorry to hear Squallie Bear isn't doing as well as before. He was the poster cat for Vetsulin! If you want to try Lantus, there are cheaper places to get it than a vet office (you probably already know this). It might be time for a change if his numbers don't settle down soon. Either way, you know you have lots of support here. :bighug:
Thanks, Shane. Yes, he really was the poster child for Vetsulin, I don't know what happened. However, I went over his old spreadsheet (2015) as well as this year's, so far, and it seems to me that his BG really started to increase around the time I switched from Fancy Feast to 9 Lives. Makes me wonder...
 
Thanks, Shane. Yes, he really was the poster child for Vetsulin, I don't know what happened. However, I went over his old spreadsheet (2015) as well as this year's, so far, and it seems to me that his BG really started to increase around the time I switched from Fancy Feast to 9 Lives. Makes me wonder...
HMMMM interesting!!! nice catch...
 
Yes, I can't guarantee that this has any bearing on his raised BG, but it is awfully coincidental that the two events started about the same time. I have wanted for some time to switch to a different food, so I guess that time is now. I'm sorry the better foods are so darn expensive; I think I'm going to try Special Kitty Mixed Grill (1% carbs, 191 phosphorus) and supplement it with a little bit of Evo 95%.
 
Hope it is just a food issue. Joshi is on Vetsulin too and is doing quite well so far, so I've been following your posts. We do occasionally get some unusual numbers, which make me wonder if Joshi's more sensitive BG-wise to certain foods.
 
Lara, Squallie has done amazingly well on Vetsulin, and has gotten great duration on it, too. I don't know what happened to cause him to have such high numbers.
 
Well, he's done it again (ironic, considering the last few posts!). His PMPS BG was 183. Anybody want to weigh in on an appropriate dose - please? I was thinking maybe 2.25; does that seem safe, or should I drop it lower?
 
Then I think you have to be cautious. He seems to be trending lower overall. If you do 2.5 tonight, can you monitor? His past cycles suggest he tends to go up after a low ( 2/18) but I wouldn't count on that. If you don't want to be up tonight, maybe a little less.
 
I don't mind being up with him, but for safety I think maybe I'll just do 2.25. Do you think that sounds reasonable?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top