Sandi and Toby
Member Since 2015
For general info about Whisper, his story and our history, please see my post over in the Intro forum (http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-member-whisper-but-not-newly-diabetic.145785/). Whisper’s SS is up to date through AM Oct 11, but I haven’t had anyone else confirm that they can see it, so hopefully I have it shared correctly.
But here is a quick rundown. Whisper is currently eating purely FF Tender Beef Feast, ½ can four times a day (right after AM shot, AM+6, right after PM shot, and at bed), although he will scrounge more FF from the other cats bowls if he can muscle them out. He is 10 pounds, and is 10-14 years old. When he came to us in September he was on 2 units Lantus twice a day, not having been BG tested since June, and his health was generally poor. He might have been on 2 units twice a day for almost 3 years, we just don’t know. My vet had suggested that, after we were done with the Lantus vial (or whenever it lost potency or got contaminated, not necessarily used to the last drop), if were weren’t happy and well-regulated that we might want to consider a switch to Levemir. All of her feline clients are on Levemir, and I liked the idea of the smoother curves and later nadirs that I had read about, plus other successful transitions from Lantus to Levemir. Plus, it seemed valuable to me that it is where our vet has the most experience.
While I wasn’t testing as often as I should have on the Lantus, it seemed like it had an early-ish nadir for Whisper, and our curves seemed to get more jagged, with the one on 10/4/2015 bothering me, even though I was glad to see greens for the first time. Since the next couple of days were going to be wonky due to his dental procedure anyway, I decided to just go ahead and make the switch to Levemir since I really feel like we just needed to start from scratch with him. I probably didn’t give Lantus a good enough or long enough shot, but it seemed like this might be a good cutover point anyway.
On Lantus we had increased from 2 units when we got him, up to 3.5 (probably too fast, I shouldn’t have gone up a whole unit in the beginning like we used to for PZI), and I wasn’t testing him often enough, but for the 4 days right before surgery he was at 2 units of Lantus. So when we switched to the Levemir, our vet thought it safest to start down at just 1 unit rather than 70% of between 2 to 3.5 units.
I know that a lot of things are changing with Whisper, his diet, our dosages, his overall health, and I have read and re-read the SLGS protocol, and will continue to do so until it really sinks in, but look at our first day on Levemir, October 9th. Blues at AM+3 and AM+6. But then 530 at AMPS on October 10? Is this a bounce because his body was in the blues for a decent part of the day on Oct 9? Ugh I could shoot myself for not getting any tests after his night time shot on the 9th, but I am wondering if he got really low and the blacks resulted. I just hate to be sticking him all the time since he already runs when he sees me coming. I guarantee that he got NO dry food on Oct 9 or since. After he snarfed down his wet food at bedtime on Oct 9, he didn’t have any food before the AM BG test on the 10th.
I promised a specific question, and here it is. What thoughts do you all have on his 1 unit dosage of Levemir, even though I only have 2.5 days of data with it? Is it possible that we need to back DOWN to .75 or .50, if I understand this whole idea of bouncing, and that too much insulin and cause high numbers. I think that time will tell very soon, if a bounce really does last about 3 days, but want to get your opinions before maybe this time tomorrow when our 3 days are over and we are hopefully coming back down naturally. And what suggestions do you have for my test times? A full evening curve is difficult for me, and probably not entirely safe for me to do to Whisper, due to some medication that I take overnight for my own health conditions. But I am going to try to start getting bed time readings every day in addition to my AMPS and PMPS.
Other curiosities, of lower priority: In general how has our overall BGs increased after the first week or so (again, I KNOW that my lack of data makes any theorizations difficult), even though he went from Meow Mix 100% of the time to wet food 100% of the time, and in theory some of his medical issues should be getting better? Could it be just the stress of the move, his new housemates, and the exhaustive medications and testing?
Thanks in advance for any help that you can offer!
Sandi
But here is a quick rundown. Whisper is currently eating purely FF Tender Beef Feast, ½ can four times a day (right after AM shot, AM+6, right after PM shot, and at bed), although he will scrounge more FF from the other cats bowls if he can muscle them out. He is 10 pounds, and is 10-14 years old. When he came to us in September he was on 2 units Lantus twice a day, not having been BG tested since June, and his health was generally poor. He might have been on 2 units twice a day for almost 3 years, we just don’t know. My vet had suggested that, after we were done with the Lantus vial (or whenever it lost potency or got contaminated, not necessarily used to the last drop), if were weren’t happy and well-regulated that we might want to consider a switch to Levemir. All of her feline clients are on Levemir, and I liked the idea of the smoother curves and later nadirs that I had read about, plus other successful transitions from Lantus to Levemir. Plus, it seemed valuable to me that it is where our vet has the most experience.
While I wasn’t testing as often as I should have on the Lantus, it seemed like it had an early-ish nadir for Whisper, and our curves seemed to get more jagged, with the one on 10/4/2015 bothering me, even though I was glad to see greens for the first time. Since the next couple of days were going to be wonky due to his dental procedure anyway, I decided to just go ahead and make the switch to Levemir since I really feel like we just needed to start from scratch with him. I probably didn’t give Lantus a good enough or long enough shot, but it seemed like this might be a good cutover point anyway.
On Lantus we had increased from 2 units when we got him, up to 3.5 (probably too fast, I shouldn’t have gone up a whole unit in the beginning like we used to for PZI), and I wasn’t testing him often enough, but for the 4 days right before surgery he was at 2 units of Lantus. So when we switched to the Levemir, our vet thought it safest to start down at just 1 unit rather than 70% of between 2 to 3.5 units.
I know that a lot of things are changing with Whisper, his diet, our dosages, his overall health, and I have read and re-read the SLGS protocol, and will continue to do so until it really sinks in, but look at our first day on Levemir, October 9th. Blues at AM+3 and AM+6. But then 530 at AMPS on October 10? Is this a bounce because his body was in the blues for a decent part of the day on Oct 9? Ugh I could shoot myself for not getting any tests after his night time shot on the 9th, but I am wondering if he got really low and the blacks resulted. I just hate to be sticking him all the time since he already runs when he sees me coming. I guarantee that he got NO dry food on Oct 9 or since. After he snarfed down his wet food at bedtime on Oct 9, he didn’t have any food before the AM BG test on the 10th.
I promised a specific question, and here it is. What thoughts do you all have on his 1 unit dosage of Levemir, even though I only have 2.5 days of data with it? Is it possible that we need to back DOWN to .75 or .50, if I understand this whole idea of bouncing, and that too much insulin and cause high numbers. I think that time will tell very soon, if a bounce really does last about 3 days, but want to get your opinions before maybe this time tomorrow when our 3 days are over and we are hopefully coming back down naturally. And what suggestions do you have for my test times? A full evening curve is difficult for me, and probably not entirely safe for me to do to Whisper, due to some medication that I take overnight for my own health conditions. But I am going to try to start getting bed time readings every day in addition to my AMPS and PMPS.
Other curiosities, of lower priority: In general how has our overall BGs increased after the first week or so (again, I KNOW that my lack of data makes any theorizations difficult), even though he went from Meow Mix 100% of the time to wet food 100% of the time, and in theory some of his medical issues should be getting better? Could it be just the stress of the move, his new housemates, and the exhaustive medications and testing?
Thanks in advance for any help that you can offer!
Sandi