Hi Jennifer,
I understand your frustration with seeing higher numbers. As you know, I have no first hand experience with Lantus, so all I can do is read the literature and try to make sense of it. I know you aren't following TR, so I looked at the Start Low, Go Slow protocol.
The SLGS recommends you stay on a dose for a week or two weeks at a time. And then it says you would run a full curve and adjust as follows:
a) If the lowest point of the curve is above 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
b) If the lowest point of the curve is between 90 and 149 mg/dl (5.0 and 8.2 mmol/L), keep the dose the same.
c) If the lowest point of the curve is below 90 mg/dl (5.0 mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.5 unit.
Seeing as how he went so low on .75 a few days ago, I don't think I would recommend increasing to more than that.
So I went and read the TR guidelines as well...
Spot has been running high for four days since you reduced his dose, right? TR states that :
Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
Looking at your SS, I don't see anthing mid-cycle that indicates a nadir below 200. I would say that Spot meets the criteria for an increase to .75u. If you check tonight and don't see a low mid-cycle number, I would be inclined to increase in the morning. If you don't feel comfortable with going back to that dose, then maybe just a few drops skinny from .75?
Hoping that maybe someone with lots of L experience will hop in and correct anything I might have stated incorrectly. Seems sort of quiet here today...
Is Spot eating okay? Is he acting sick in any way?
Carl
Edited to include both TR and SLGS guidelines.