Need dosing advice for tomorrow AM please...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lisa & Harry

Member Since 2016
Hi, Harry's PMPS tonight was 190. I waited 20 minutes and retested and got 188. I didn't give him his shot based on the Prozinc protocol. I fed him and had to run out for awhile tonight. Just got back and tested him. BG=537 at +4. Well, would have been +4 if I had given him his shot. I wasn't expecting it to be that high. Thought if it were still sort of low waiting to his morning shot would be fine. When I saw it that high I wasn't sure what to do, so I gave him 1 unit. Figured it was better than none, but probably not enough to do much unfortunately. I didn't want to mess up being able to give him his AM dose. But maybe I did. :( I'm worried about what I really should be doing now. Any advice would be great. Thanks!
 
I have no experience of Prozinc and am not qualified to give dosing advice, I have had a look at his spreadsheet and it looks as though his doses are being increased quite quickly (possibly a little too quickly?) and he is getting a good response to the insulin on a +6 reading. Are you able to be there to do a few more readings after his morning shot? Replying really to bump this up in the hope a Prozinc user might be able to help @Elizabeth and Bertie
 
It was good to only give 1 1/2 units this AM. It may be advisable to give 2 units this evening since 2 1/2 may be to much based on yesterday's PMPS
 
I have no experience of Prozinc and am not qualified to give dosing advice, I have had a look at his spreadsheet and it looks as though his doses are being increased quite quickly (possibly a little too quickly?) and he is getting a good response to the insulin on a +6 reading. Are you able to be there to do a few more readings after his morning shot? Replying really to bump this up in the hope a Prozinc user might be able to help @Elizabeth and Bertie

I wasn't able to get any additional readings this morning because I had to be at work. His PMPS number wasn't too bad tonight though. We'll see what things look like in the morning and go from there I guess. I plan to get at least one more reading tonight too. Thanks!
 
It was good to only give 1 1/2 units this AM. It may be advisable to give 2 units this evening since 2 1/2 may be to much based on yesterday's PMPS

I did only give 2 units tonight; especially since his number wasn't terribly high. I plan to test again later tonight, then try to decide tomorrow morning based on the AMPS number. At least I've learned now to not give any shot when I get that lower pre-shot number. Even if his number gets high later. Thanks for your advice!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top