SusanBaxterJesse
Member Since 2014
Hi everyone,
My Baxter has unfortunately just come out of remission, so I started him on Lantus about two weeks ago. He has a history of severe hypoglycemia in which he almost died from two years ago. Because of this, to protect his health and my sanity, I started him very low -- .25. His BG has been all over the place in wild swings. With just that little amount, his BG plumets 200, 250 or even more points -- which makes me afraid to shoot anything under 300. But of course, then if I skip a dose then his next BG reading is sky high. But I'm really afraid for him to go hypo again when I'm at work, and it's so hard for me to predict how low he'll go. I've just asked my vet to prescribe Levemir, on the recommendation of many others on the facebook feline diabetes group. I'm thinking that because that insulin produces flatter curves and less variability it may be much better for him. Nutrition-wise, Baxter eats canned food only -- Wild Calling and Weruva.
Any guidance that you have is very much appreciated -- I'm pulling my hair out trying to regular my sweetheart while also balancing my PTSD of hypoglycemia. I'm especially interested in dosing advice, and whether switching to Levemir would be a good idea. Also, if I switch -- how do I best make the switch from Lantus?
Here is Baxter's spreadsheet:https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc?key=0AroBYUCR5FovdHc0d1VIdnI0aGRjNFpOeFdEWVpKWnc&usp=sharing
Many thanks for your help!
Susan and Baxter
My Baxter has unfortunately just come out of remission, so I started him on Lantus about two weeks ago. He has a history of severe hypoglycemia in which he almost died from two years ago. Because of this, to protect his health and my sanity, I started him very low -- .25. His BG has been all over the place in wild swings. With just that little amount, his BG plumets 200, 250 or even more points -- which makes me afraid to shoot anything under 300. But of course, then if I skip a dose then his next BG reading is sky high. But I'm really afraid for him to go hypo again when I'm at work, and it's so hard for me to predict how low he'll go. I've just asked my vet to prescribe Levemir, on the recommendation of many others on the facebook feline diabetes group. I'm thinking that because that insulin produces flatter curves and less variability it may be much better for him. Nutrition-wise, Baxter eats canned food only -- Wild Calling and Weruva.
Any guidance that you have is very much appreciated -- I'm pulling my hair out trying to regular my sweetheart while also balancing my PTSD of hypoglycemia. I'm especially interested in dosing advice, and whether switching to Levemir would be a good idea. Also, if I switch -- how do I best make the switch from Lantus?
Here is Baxter's spreadsheet:https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc?key=0AroBYUCR5FovdHc0d1VIdnI0aGRjNFpOeFdEWVpKWnc&usp=sharing
Many thanks for your help!
Susan and Baxter