Need Dose Help

Status
Not open for further replies.

Harley Baby & Michele

Member Since 2018
AMPS 30 minutes early. BG = 89 He ate 1.3 oz Sheba.

1. How long should I wait to retest? Tested and ate at 0730. Normally due for insulin at 0800. I am in Arizona.
2. How long can I delay?
3. What should be my No Shoot cutoff?
4. If I shoot should I give 0.25 units or drop to a smudge at 0.1 units?

Thank you!
 
Stalling has to be without food so when you retest 20-30 minutes ;later you can see if BG is rising, falling or staying the same. Generally:
  • AMPS is low and is lower after stalling up to 30 minutes - skip or shoot lower dose depending on your data/experience
  • AMPS is low and BG is rising after stalling - shoot same dose
  • AMPS is low and BG is similar after stalling - shoot same dose if you have experience or reduce very slightly.
So much depends on recent history, which dosing guide you're following (TR or SLGS) and your experience and knowledge of Harley's responses.
 
I posted on your old condo. You'll need to reduce to .1u, the picture is below. Can you monitor today?
01unit-1.jpg
 
So in other words: I should not have tested early and I should not have fed him. I should have waited 30 minutes then retested, then make a judgment call. Will write that down! I fed him because he was actually yowling for food and circling my legs! I take every chance I can to get him to eat! :banghead::banghead::banghead:

Karen: OK, I will reduce to 0.1 Yes, I am home most of the day. Will check when I can.
 
If you can monitor shoot the .1 when you're comfortable. If not, I'd lean on skipping. If you skip no matter what his PMPS is only shoot the .1u. Hopefully you can shoot the .1 for at least 6 cycles to let the depot stabilize (unless he dips below 50 again then you'd reduce to the drop). Worse case you have to increase after the 6 cycles. He's gone into the 20's and 30's in the last few days which could potentially make him more sensitive to insulin.
 
Karen: OK, I will reduce to 0.1 Yes, I am home most of the day. Will check when I can.
Good so you went ahead and gave the .1? I'd start with at test at +2 and go from there. Glad to hear he was hungry and no worries on the feeding...next time you can stall without food to see if he's rising or not. Sometimes if they've gone a while without food they will just continue to drop.
 
I have not given insulin yet. I want to wait 20 more minutes (to 0830) to retest as that will be 1 hour post meal. I am curious how he responds to the food. I will give 0.1 unit regardless as I hate the thought of repeated give, hold, reduce etc. I feel like he will never stabilize. Thank you Kris and Karen!
 
Just checked at 1100. BG = 99. He ate 1.3 oz Sheba and about 1/4 can Friskies so far today. I am a bit surpassed he is dropping since he ate so well today...for him! Sleeping at the moment.

Will keep checking q2hours.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top