Need dose help -#'s out of control !

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marci and Buddy

Member Since 2009
Buddy is feeling better from his Ptitis. he is not isolating and even wanted to play this morning.His appetite is ok.
But his bg's are 400 and 500+ for 3 days now. i increased his shot to 1.75 u from 1, but didn't seem to make any difference.
Those with experience as to how P-titis efects bgs- please let me know how much insulin i should be giving him at this time .
Much thanks.
 
Have you thought about using a little R when he's that high? I expect you'd only use a drop, but that might help bring him down to a manageable number. I had to increase quite a bit before we saw any response - but Grayson is insulin resistant too.
 
R is a rapid acting insulin that I would not recommend using unless you are experienced with it and/or have a vet or very trusted and experienced person to help you with it.

I would hazard to guess that he is rebounding. It looks like his base dose is .75u to 1u, where he is getting nice nadirs on a skinny 1u. Going to 1.75u is probably too much and setting off rebound. I think it is worth trying 1u or even .75u on one cycle to see if there are lower numbers. You just don't want him in extended high numbers while he is sick.

Did his appetite suddenly go up? Are you feeding some other food that is higher in carbs to entice him? Those could be factors as well, but maybe indicating he does need a slightly higher dose. I'm just not sure going to 75% more is a good idea.

Not all cats in a ptitis flare need higher doses. beau needed a lower dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top