??? Need Dosage Help 9/27 PMPS 87

Status
Not open for further replies.

Carey & Kopie

Member Since 2017
I have been getting low numbers recently. I need to stay on schedule. I leave for work at 7:30 am. It's now 7:15 pm. I don't know what to give him. If I skip the dose, he will be in the 500s by morning.
 
Hi! Did you reduce after the 86 yesterday? I can't see what you give in the morning. Are you doing SLGS? Or is dry food being given? If so, you need to skip because that's under 90. Kopie earned another reduction.
 
If you can't stay up and monitor as long as you need to, you may need to skip even if he ends up in high numbers tomorrow morning. It's better to be high than to be too low and you not be able to monitor. He will come back down.
 
Ok, I went back in the SS and saw you gave 4 this morning. Skip tonight and give 3.75 units in the morning. Better high than too low because that's safer for the cat.
 
If you were following the SLGS (Start Low Go Slow) Lantus dosing guidelines you'd skip the shot tonight and drop the dose by 0.25 u tomorrow AM because he went below 90 today. That means a 3.75 u dose tomorrow. This is why we recommend that people follow one of the two sets of guidelines for Lantus. They both give you very clear steps to take when BG numbers fall in certain ranges.
 
I needed to go out. I ended up giving him 3.5 units. He is not eating dry food anymore. We had 2 older cats that wouldn't eat can. They both passed this summer. One had kidney failure and the other had an inoperable cancerous tumor in her abdomen. I wanted them to eat dry because I knew they didn't have a lot of time left. All dry is gone now. I'm wondering if that's why his morning numbers are lower. I am going to test him before bed.
 
Could you update your signature about the dry food? Have you decided which protocol you want to follow? That impacts the advice we would give you.

I'm sorry to hear about the 2 cats passing away. :bighug:

I think you should stick with 3.5u and see what happens. Stopping dry food can affect the cat's insulin needs.
 
Neither protocol seems to fit. I guess I'm more TR. He can't skip a dose if he's under 150. He goes really high if I do that. SLGS says to use a human meter. Is that also the case for TR?
 
All dry is gone now. I'm wondering if that's why his morning numbers are lower.

Yes, removing dry food will affect his numbers because of it being so much higher in carbs then they need.

SLGS says to use a human meter. Is that also the case for TR?

Yep, we follow TR and our meter is the Relion Micro. Most here do use human meters and the numbers listed on the protocols are written for human meters.

With following the TR protocol, you're going to want to try for +2 and +6 tests each cycle as often as possible. The +2 lets you know how the cycle is going to go, and the +6 helps in determining dose increases/decreases. With Lantus, dose changes go more by the nadir (+6 or lowest point in the cycle), then the preshot numbers.
 
What I understand with TR is at least 2 tests per cycle. It doesn't matter what time. I did AMPS, +10, PMPS, +2, and +3 on the days I work.

Both protocols are written for human meters. If you're using a pet meter, put that in your signature. Take action number with a pet meter is 68 compared to 50 with a human meter.

If you want to do TR, then reductions are earned if the cat goes below 50.

Good luck and I'll check in on you and Kopie in the morning. :bighug:
 
Hey there and sorry I didn't get the tag last night. First, so sorry about you losing two civvies this summer. One is hard enough......

The removal of dry food can really impact lowering the numbers. I see you are following TR. So , your reduction number will be 50 now since you switched to a human meter. I am not sure why you reduced from 4.25 down to 4 units yesterday morning and then another reduction last night to 3.5. He is going to still be under the influence of the 4.25 dose for another cycle or two so if you see that he starts really creeping up again in numbers, you will know that the 3.5 is too low and might have to bring him up again by .25 of a unit. We usually raise and lower in .25 increments.
 
Hey there and sorry I didn't get the tag last night. First, so sorry about you losing two civvies this summer. One is hard enough......

The removal of dry food can really impact lowering the numbers. I see you are following TR. So , your reduction number will be 50 now since you switched to a human meter. I am not sure why you reduced from 4.25 down to 4 units yesterday morning and then another reduction last night to 3.5. He is going to still be under the influence of the 4.25 dose for another cycle or two so if you see that he starts really creeping up again in numbers, you will know that the 3.5 is too low and might have to bring him up again by .25 of a unit. We usually raise and lower in .25 increments.
I've always been using a human meter. I used a pet meter for the first couple of weeks in May. I was completely alone when his numbers dropped and I was on a time restraint. I wasn't sure how much insulin to give but I knew that I couldn't miss a shot because then he goes really high.
 
I've always been using a human meter. I used a pet meter for the first couple of weeks in May. I was completely alone when his numbers dropped and I was on a time restraint. I wasn't sure how much insulin to give but I knew that I couldn't miss a shot because then he goes really high.
I asked for dosage advice on here, but didn't get any replies before I needed to leave my house.
 
I asked for dosage advice on here, but didn't get any replies before I needed to leave my house.
Safety always first. No judgment, just trying to get a handle on the why. How has this cycle played out? When you get a chance please update your SS and then we can help you better. Like I said before, let's see if he is going to need more juice than 3.5.
 
You did fine. First and foremost, please get another couple of tests in. You may be seeing a food spike at +2 and numbers might drop as Lantus onset starts.

What you did was give what we lovingly refer to as a BCS ("big chicken sh*t) dose. The headache is that you can never be sure if a temporary dose reduction will have an effect on the current cycle or the next cycle. Sometimes, the depot kicks in and you don't see the effects of the reduction during the current cycle.

 
I just have to say, I love Kopie's little face - that pic is priceless. :-)

I hope you can get more tests in; I'd be really curious to see what's actually happening during the cycle. The AMPS and PMPS numbers don't really give much information to go on. I'm sure lots of interesting things are happening in between! :-)
 
I just have to say, I love Kopie's little face - that pic is priceless. :)

I hope you can get more tests in; I'd be really curious to see what's actually happening during the cycle. The AMPS and PMPS numbers don't really give much information to go on. I'm sure lots of interesting things are happening in between! :)
Thank you. I love that picture because it really shows his personality. He's really goofy! Lol I'm going to try to get more tests in.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top