Outcast
Member Since 2016
AS some of you all know me...I have a 17yr old calico diagnosed on new years eve 2015. She is on Vetsulin and her numbers in the beginning when diagnosed was 499 BG and Fructosamine was around 600. Her numbers have dropped significantly since being on 1 unit twice daily. Testing prior has indicated that her numbers are around 150ish to 160 pre shot. A few days back I did give her 1/2 unit and tested a few hours later and she was 63. Yes, still technically in range, but she was sluggish, did not want to really engage at all. This was even with FOOD! yes, she was eating all though the 2 hours and still she was at 63. Concerned over this, gave her some Karo syrup to bring her up and tested an hour later and at 67. Because of the low drop (Vetsulin does this, hard and fast) I was concerned and tested again at night and she was around 157. I decided to skip a dose. Tested again in the morning and she was 153. Skipped that one...Night, she was around the same and then this morning she was 155. I need to consult with the vet, but I believe that either, her body is stabilizing around 150ish and might need to be on a softer less 'heavy duty' insulin so that her body might be able to regulate just with food. She is on D/M but primarily a wet food (Welness chicken) 1.9% Carb - 4%