need another set of eyes on ss

Status
Not open for further replies.

wplymale

Member Since 2012
Could someone please give me some advice on scratches numbers. He had a bad hypo this week and I am not too sure what to do about these numbers. Took him of glipozide after hypo and have been trying to get him stable. Thanks for looking.
 
2u looks like too much. If he was In the 330 range before he ate last night, put that number in as the PMPS, since the 441 included "food".
I think I would drop back down to 1u, see if you can get any mid-cycle tests, and if you see a preshot number under 200, don't give a shot.
Carl
 
Thankyou for the eyes. Do you think that I should be testing later than 15 minutes after food. And..is it normal to be in the 400 range after food. Should I be concerned about that.
 
The sequence is "test, feed and shoot". It's the number just before eating that matters most. Food will start to raise the number quickly, so a rise of 100 points isn't odd. Then it takes 2-3 hours for the insulin to start working to bring the numbers down. It should be lowest about 5-6 hours after the shot.
Carl
 
Thankyou so much. I have been trying to understand what number to focus on and feel like he was really on a roller coaster ride. Is it normal for a cat to be lower in the morning testing than in the evening testing?
 
I'm a newbie, but yes 2U looks like it packs too much of a wallop to his BG. What kind of insulin are you using? Did your vet determine the 2U with a blood glucose curve? Seems like it would be better to start at a low dose and work your way up to what works best, especially if you're not testing BG frequently.
There's an insulin specific group section (click on board index above and it gives you all of the group sections). It would be good to post there as well. If you're on lantus the tight regulation group is awesome and they're there posting frequently.
Carl and Bob are awesome too and were a great help to me when I was starting off and terrified :smile:
 
Also, how the BG curve goes can be really specific to the individual cat and also depends on the type of insulin you're using, and how and what you're feeding (wet low carb food only? is there any dry? does your kitty have access all day to the food? and is there anything else he could be getting into like dog food? (my cat does this!)......
For instance, I notice with my cat that if I'm giving snacks of fish rather than low carb kitty food, her BG level stays much more constant, with the little bit of carbs (tablespoon of Fancy Feast classic) it causes a noticeable spike in her BG. She's on lantus and the spreadsheet is attached if it's helpful for you to look at the values I'm getting for her.
 
wplymale said:
Thankyou so much. I have been trying to understand what number to focus on and feel like he was really on a roller coaster ride. Is it normal for a cat to be lower in the morning testing than in the evening testing?

With Prozinc, there are two numbers you want to focus on. One is the preshot number, and the other would be the nadir number. A lot of people focus primarily on the preshot numbers with Prozinc, but they only tell half the story. What you want to know is both the highest and the lowest number of the 12 hour cycle. Because the difference between those numbers tells you how effective the dose is. Not enough difference indicates that a higher dose makes sense. Too much difference indicates that a lower dose makes sense.

If you start out at 300, and you see a low of 100, that's a 67% drop in BG levels, and that's a "good dose". I think Robin mentioned in your other thread that a drop of 50%-75% is a good drop. Also keep in mind that just one cycle doesn't give you the "big picture". Things can change day to day, and a dose might look good one day and not so good the next. What you want to focus on is the patterns over the course of a few days. You are hoping to see a degree of consistency with the cycles, and that will help you see if the dose needs to be adjusted up or down.

Carl and Bob are awesome too and were a great help to me when I was starting off and terrified
Thank you for the kind words. :smile: That's mostly because Carl and Bob remember starting off and being terrified about a year and a half ago like it was yesterday! And I remember how kind and helpful people I didn't even know were to me in those days when they talked me off the ledge ;-)
This place rocks!

Carl (and Bob)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top