Need AM dose advise - similar BG curve on different doses???

Status
Not open for further replies.

alicia.1771

Member Since 2011
I'm not able to see a pattern on Beau's response to insulin yet as we are quite new to ProZinc and are trying to figure out a good dose for him that will give him a somewhat consistent curve.

He was showing good response to 0.8 when a few red PS popped up with no green nadirs, so we bubmped him to 1.0 which lead to more red PS's and still no green nadirs. That was a point when I struggled whether to go up or down. Since he showed some good #'s on 1.25-1.5 previously I bumped him up to 1.2 for a few cycles. We got a few green nadirs but also black PS's. So I dropped his dose down to 0.8 again. I try to hold a dose for 4-5 cycles.

His BG yesterday on 0.8 was similar to 8/6 AM when he got 1.0 and 8/6 PM when he got 1.2. I know this is probably not the way to compare BG #'s but he is really not giving me a pattern to dose. He would show similar curves on different doses and also very different curves on the same dose...

Right now he is a mystery to me and I don't know what I should dose him. I would like to hold the 0.8 for a few cycles so we are not constantly adjusting his dose.

We are seeing a blue PS this morning but not sure if it's rising or still falling. Will be posting that shortly. Any advise on dosing this morning? I'm thinking 0.8 if rising and maybe either skip or a skinny 0.5 if still falling but > 150?
 
Re: Need AM dose advise - similar BG curve on different dose

Hmm...so at AMPS is 179 compared to +11 at 189. Looks like it's dropping still.

Need to feed him now and go to work soon. Should I skip AM shot????
 
Re: Need AM dose advise - similar BG curve on different dose

Don't you just love the dance, Alicia! With your kitty I would not shoot a non-rising number ....

Beau is a mystery ..... but a very new sugar cat and settling in takes time in the beginning. Your first thought is to go at him all guns firing! but then you look at his SS ..... and you see all those greens and then all you see are caution signs!!!

So instead, I would go slow and I think I would stay with the 0.8 dose a little longer or go to 1u ....... with more data you will know more how he reacts on different doses but he will never be a big gulper!! And I would use 200 as a no shoot number. Even now, with a big gulper like Payne, my cut off # is 175-180 and I rarely see any greens! so I suppose I could have a lower # but why?

Remember ..... I know you have heard this before but it is a marathon, not a sprint.
 
Re: Need AM dose advise - similar BG curve on different dose

Sorry, it's probably way too late now.

It sure looks like he likes his dose decrease. Since he is still dropping I think I would skip the shot because you won't be around to test.

This weekend we can look at getting some data on lower doses and PS's.

Yay this is looking great.
 
Re: Need AM dose advise - similar BG curve on different dose

I would skip if you are going to work ..... or give just a little.
 
Re: Need AM dose advise - similar BG curve on different dose

Thank you Rob & Nancy for your input!

I think I am going to give a small dose since food generally helps him maintain his BG or cause it to go up I don't want his body to go without insulin. I will be checking in on him during lunch break which will be between +4 and +5 (he also seem to have early nadirs recently).
 
Re: Need AM dose advise - similar BG curve on different dose

Hmmm... AM+4.5 is 407 :shock:

Not sure if it's due to not enough insulin because of the half dose or there was a dip somewhere between AM shot and now. He was quite hungry though at the +4.5 check up (not sure how helpful that is). But I think I'm going to stick to 0.8 for a few more cycles and hopefully Beau will take pity on his mommy and give a somewhat recognizable pattern soon.
 
Re: Need AM dose advise - similar BG curve on different dose

Haven't you figured out that our sugar cats love this dance!! and only they know the steps! but what you do know is he could have had the full dose. With each step we figure it out more ...... :roll:

You are doing really good! In Payne and my beginning .... we were fighting DKA in/out of ER .... you have the fear of a hypo, we learn because we need to.

Nancy and Payne
(who spent the AM sitting on the lights on the love bird cage and trying to swat them ..... :)
the lovebirds ...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top