Need advise on dosing

Rochelle and Mulligan

Member Since 2021
I've been trying to slowly increase the Lantus dosing until Mulligan starts to hold steady at a lower number, which hasn't happened yet. Does it look like I'm doing things correctly? Am I moving too fast? I was just a lot more concerned after todays numbers because he finally made it into the 100's (yay) but then tonight hit the 300's tonight. I didn't expect such a jump because he sat with me all day on my desk while I worked. He did not eat dry food at all today and had wet food with the morning shot, around noon and then with tonight's shot. Any reason he seems to jump to the 300's so much? I was worried tonight's dose would sent him into a weird dip and spike after today's numbers.

His meals are mostly only Friskies pate and probably about 10% Dr. Elsey's cleanprotein chicken dry kibbles. He doesn't have much interest in the dry food anymore. He's nearing a month of having Zobaline with his morning and evening meal. I've just started Cosequin once a day since it was noted of some arthritis in his spine and his walking looks so painful it breaks my heart. I have 2 other cats that graze on the Dr. Elsey's dry food and they eat more at night. I do plan to switch everyone to wet food at some point.

Sorry this is long. I just wanted to be sure to include anything that may help if anyone could give some advice on whether it looks like what we're doing is on the right track or what I can change. Thanks :)
 
Here is the link to your last thread for Mulligan: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/help-s-dropping.248147/#post-2799039

You're doing SLGS, so you should be holding the dose for seven days, do a curve on day seven, and then adjust the dose or hold based on the curve and as per the sticky. However, if Mulligan drops below 90 at any point in any cycle, then you take an immediate .25u reduction starting the next time you shoot, and the seven day count starts over.

If possible, you may want to grab the odd nighttime test. Many cats often go lower at night.

Nice blues, by the way! :cool:
 
Welcome to LLB. a few observations if I may. You need a minimum of 2 tests each cycle, the amps/pmps and one more. I don’t see any at night. Many cats drop lower at night so those are important. A +2 might let you know if you will have an active cycle. If lower than the pmps get another test later. At first you were increasing too often but not lately. He’s not used to blue bg so he bounced high. That can take up to 6 cycles to clear.
 
I see you reduced to 2.25 units tonight. I would go back to 2.5 units tomorrow morning. Your goal is a dose that gets you nadirs in the 90 to 149 range.
 
Back
Top