Need advise on AM dose, AMPS is 161 instead of 400's

Status
Not open for further replies.

alicia.1771

Member
Due to Beau's high PS#'s on 5 cycles of 1.0U, I bumped up his doage to 1.2U last night. He was showing a steady drop on BG and was at 202 at +4 so I went to bed.

I was shocked this morning to see his AMPS at 161! So not sure how low he went at nadir...AM ketones (-).

I will wait and test to see if I get a rising#, if so, is it safe to give 1.2U since he's responding and I am home to test and monitor?
 
I don't know anything about ProZinc. But with Lantus, that's what I would do is wait (stall the shot) and test again without feeding, to see if you get a rising number. Hopefully, someone will come along to help you with the dose amount to shoot.
 
Thanks Dayna. Doesn't seem anyone is on PZI this morning.

Just tested his BG, 30min later 180, 1hr later 165? Since there is 20% variation he is probably around 160-180. Will wait a little longer to decise what to do. He seems hungry though, I haven't fed him yet.
 
I'm glad you haven't fed him, because that would cause the BG to rise and you would not know if it was rising on it's own or because of the food spike.
Next time you up the dose, maybe try to set an alarm so you can get a night time nadir test. A lot of cats go lower at nght. Today, you can do that, if you end up shooting the new regular dose.
Sorry, I don't know about PZI. But, you're doing good. 160 to 180 are good numbers, they are not too low. So, don't be scared. If he was my kitty and I got a rising number next test, I would shoot the new regular dose and test today to see how it does. As long as you have your hypo kit, and post your numbers so we can help you, you should be fine.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top