Need Advice pre shot number was 141

Status
Not open for further replies.

Adam2020

Member Since 2020
I need advise pls. Adams pre shot was 141 . He never gets low like this but we changed his food to Aldi's canned and always add water. I know no shot but after he eats will his numbers get lower ? I have been trying to test during the day and give smaller meals which I think is helping. When should I test again ? I know what to do if he gets too low .
He is on ProZinc 2 units AM and 1 1/2 units PM
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20201004_080151061.jpg
    IMG_20201004_080151061.jpg
    47.7 KB · Views: 124
I need advise pls. Adams pre shot was 141 . He never gets low like this but we changed his food to Aldi's canned and always add water. I know no shot but after he eats will his numbers get lower ? I have been trying to test during the day and give smaller meals which I think is helping. When should I test again ? I know what to do if he gets too low .
He is on ProZinc 2 units AM and 1 1/2 units PM
Good morning ( well at least its morning here:p)
While you are providing his numbers in a doc. I would be remiss if I didnt ask you to PLEASE set up your spread sheet. I know this method is what you are use to( Its the way I had to record Troubles BG numbers back in the early 2000's) But what I wouldnt have given to have this resource! IF you are having trouble setting it up (I know because I would be like a ping pong ball trying to figure it out.not techy AT ALL here). There are really good people that are committed to helping you:
FDMB SPREADSHEET INSTRUCTIONS
Please take advantage of this wonderful tool to help us help you.

All that said: I dont have the "chops" to give dosing advice but I can tag @JanetNJ to come help.

Hope today brings good numbers!
jeanne
 
Not a prozinc person myself, but my understanding is that it is an "in and out" insulin. This means that there shouldn't be very much carryover from last night's shot into today if you don't shoot this morning (though there may be some, as it's a relatively long-lasting insulin).

If it were me, I'd test again in an hour or two, to keep a close eye on him and see where he's going. As an aside, it's also always a good idea to re-test any unusually low or high number immediately-- sometimes you get a bad strip or poor reading.

And yes, please do set up a spreadsheet for your data! It will really help the prozinc folks see what's going on with your little guy. Sounds like the food change might have had a big positive effect!
 
I agree with Jeanne. A spreadsheet would be very helpful We are likely going to need more than pre-shot numbers. Is it possible for you to get at least one additional test during each of the 12-hour cycles? Most dose adjustments are based on the lowest number in the cycle. Having only pre-shot data may cause you to miss the need for a dose reduction.
 
Since the am preshot is lower than usual, I would stall without feeding for a half hour and restest and see what the number is. If it goes over 200, you can give some insulin, BUT , you don't have any mid day numbers, so we don't know how low your cat is actually going. You may want to reduce the dose until you get some mid cycle numbers, esp. with a food change.
 
You may have to replace some of the wording in your signature with the link.
Go to the same place where you created your signature and amend it with the link to your spreadsheet.
 
Out of curiosity, what kind of Friskies were you feeding before this recent switch? Wondering if there might have been some extra carbs in the variety that have now been removed. Or, possibly, there was an ingredient that didn't agree with Adam that was bumping his numbers higher.

Still too soon to say if this is a permanent food-related shift, but it's an interesting coincidence that he's getting these numbers now!
 
Have you gotten any more tests in after that 164?
I would suggest you get a few more tests in during the am and
pm to see how the insulin is working to collect more data
Different times each day and night :cat:
I was thing the same thing Alleluia was wondering about the different doses for morning and night
 
Last edited:
On this site, we always recommend the same dose morning and night, in part because it makes it easier to interpret BG numbers and patterns, and easier to change doses in response to BG. However, it isn't uncommon, especially for in-and-out insulins such as Prozinc, for vets to prescribe different am and pm dosage.
 
Out of curiosity, what kind of Friskies were you feeding before this recent switch? Wondering if there might have been some extra carbs in the variety that have now been removed. Or, possibly, there was an ingredient that didn't agree with Adam that was bumping his numbers higher.

Still too soon to say if this is a permanent food-related shift, but it's an interesting coincidence that he's getting these numbers now!
Usually chicken pate but if you read the ingredients it still had fish in it
 
I just updated his spreadsheet. Yesterday was rough for me I had 2 massive Vertigo attacks so it was hard to get anything done even doing him was difficult because afterwards I keep getting dizzy . Feeling a bit better today so I will try to get numbers at different times to try to figure out what's going on. His lowest is usually at +6
Thanks for all the help !
 
OI I hate vertigo! Sigh that would make care giving so much harder. Hubby got vertigo at the top of Angels Landing in Zion. I thought for sure he'd need a helicopter rescue. :nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting: Thankfully he got over it quickly. After that scare, I told him I'd go alone next time. :rolleyes:
and I did!;)
 
That would be quite a jump. I don't think that's a good idea. I can't out him at 2 units twice a day . That would be 4 units total. He was at 1 1/2 units twice a day then she switched it to this maybe a month or two ago. I think changing his food has helped more then anything .
 
OI I hate vertigo! Sigh that would make care giving so much harder. Hubby got vertigo at the top of Angels Landing in Zion. I thought for sure he'd need a helicopter rescue. :nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting: Thankfully he got over it quickly. After that scare, I told him I'd go alone next time. :rolleyes:
and I did!;)
I have Meniers Disease. The last few weeks have been awful. I spent 8 days having Vertigo attacks but mine come in clusters. Then I get dizzy the rest of the time. Fun stuff..not !
I am glad your husband is ok now. It might have been the elevation for him
 
That's what he was on and he was over 400

Was this before the food change? Insulin needs do change over time, so a dose that might have been too low a few weeks ago might be better-suited now. Or you can try splitting the difference with 1.75, but I would be inclined to go more conservative if nighttime tests are a problem.
 
The 400 was before the food change but he has always been high like that no matter the dosage..even after she increased him from 1 1/2 twice a day to this he has still been high. I changed his food last weekend to Aldi's . It seems more moist then the Friskies and I always add water anyways because he has gotten stones in the past. He doesn't eat dry at all.
I also changed instead of giving him a can in the morning and at night per the vet started giving him smaller meals throughout the day so maybe that's why his numbers are dropping. I can test him till we go to bed at 11pm.which is 3 hours after his last shot
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top