Need advice please

Status
Not open for further replies.

DebG

Member Since 2016
Fritz @+3 79 I gave him a teaspoon of LC FF should I test in 15-20 minutes? Then what if h'es still dropping give him some more LC FF? Like the low numbers but they make me so nervous
 
Basically, until you're past nadir, you are going to need to steer the numbers as follows:
1) feed 1-2 teaspoons of high carb food (or low carb +2-3 drops of Karo or other syrup on it),
2) wait 20 minutes,
3) re-test, and repeat as needed
until past nadir, and rising 3 times in a row


Then shift to low carb to see if he'll stabilize, wait 20 minutes, re-test and re-evaluate.

Also, see How to Handle a Hypo.
 
Last edited:
K I just tested him he's @86 he responds well to the LC FF should I continue with that if he's going up? Or should I give the HC FF gravy lovers just gravy?
 
Could you please look at his SS and tell me when he hits nadir I'm not sure when he does
 
As long as he stays above 68 (on the AlphaTrak), just stick with the low carb food

We want to get him surfing without sending him higher than he needs to be
 
K I appreciate the help!!!! Funny thing is I spend tons of time reading and studying all this and as soon as I'm in the situation with it my mind goes blank...
Thank heavens for all the experienced guidance!!!!!:arghh::cat:
Thanks for checking the SS:bighug:Surfing we will go.....
Think I got a handle on this:joyful::nailbiting:
 
thing is I spend tons of time reading and studying all this and as soon as I'm in the situation with it my mind goes blank...
Ain't anxiety just dandy! :rolleyes:

Good catch with the testing, Deb. Fingers and paws crossed for some safe surfin'. Hang ten, Fritz! :cat:


Mogs
.
 
OK Fritz....time to show us how good you are at staying up on that surfboard!!!
surfing cat resized to 350.jpg
 
Funny thing is we talk about the kitties diving and surfing feels like I'm being chased by the big sharks. When I first started all this I could hardly look at a needle let alone pick one up and use them. Now I dive right in....
Thanks for the vote of confidence....:nailbiting::oops: I could not be doing all this without all the help and support I receive here:bighug:
 
I love love your black kitty.... is the kitties name Saoirse? What a very cool name what does it mean?:cat:
 
Not good just hit 67 @ +4.5 I gave him some of the FF gravy lovers mixed in with LC FF the only way he'd eat it.
 
I'm ok a bit nervous. At first he wouldn't eat so I added bonita flakes still walked away so I crumbled up freeze dried chicken (True Bites) then he ate it. My fear is I gave him too much to eat and what if his numbers are still dropping and wont eat, then I use the karo syrup? How much if I have to use it?
 
I'm excited to do a dose reduction tomorrow! Not sure how much .25 or .50? He's on 4.25 units Prozinc.
Thank you for hanging in here with me:nailbiting::bighug::bighug:
 
Don't panic before it happens....remember, although 68 is your "take action" time, it's still not a "dangerously low" number

If he refuses all food and you need to get something into him, rub a few drops of Karo/honey/syrup directly on his gums (I was lucky...China loved maple syrup!)
 
OK. Is there anyone else around who could sit with Deb? (I'm not in great shape at the mo and I'm worried about not being able to go the distance.)
 
I'm hoping he hit his nadiar and that he'll be going back up. I think too much 1 oz is my guess I got carried away hopefully that much will take the BG higher Im going to test him now
 
@DebG .....you should try "stacking" your numbers so they can remain in the correct cell

If you look at China's spreadsheet for 4/12 (AM cycle) you'll see what I mean

You just put ## SPACE @ SPACE +4 (or +4.5 or whatever) and then manually color the cell by going to the icons along the top of the page and clicking on the one that looks like a small can of paint tipping over. Choose the color that goes with the lowest number in the cell
 
Thanks, Chris. I'm about to pass out.

Deb, I'll leave you in Chris's safe hands. Glad to see Fritz is rising; you're doing a great job of minding him. I'm so sorry I can't stay longer with you tonight (I can't control my sleeping :( ). I'll check in with you both tomorrow. :bighug:


Mogs
.
 
Chris thank you I was going to ask how to do that I was putting all the info into the comment area
 
Chris I'm hoping to not to have to take much more of your precious evening. I'm hoping this next reading will again be on the way up
 
I'm hoping this next reading will again be on the way up

Well, we'd like him to just surf right where he's at and not drop back down! That would be great! Just remember, all this time he's in normal numbers, his pancreas can heal!!

You're not taking up my evening....I'm waiting to get a +7 on a certain white kitty I know and love before I call it a night ;)
 
If at AMPS he's nowhere near 200 and I wait 20 minutes do I test again after 20 mins if not high enough to shoot do I skip or still do the 4 units?
 
China is so pretty, beautiful eyes..... how much does your kitty weight? Fritz was 28.7 pounds dropped to 25 and now is holing at that weight. I have about 13 minutes and I'll test him again
 
If at AMPS he's nowhere near 200 and I wait 20 minutes do I test again after 20 mins if not high enough to shoot do I skip or still do the 4 units?

If he's nowhere near 200, you'd want to stall, don't feed and retest in 20-30 minutes to see if he's on his way up....If he's still not close to 200, it depends on if you're going to be able to continue stalling for awhile and going to be home and able to test

Use that "stall" time to post and ask for help....don't be afraid to use the 911 prefix if you have to, but usually if you just make your subject line really clear (like "HELP!! Do I shoot??) someone should check in with you. You can always change your subject line once you have the help you need.
 
how much does your kitty weight?

China started out weighing less than 8lbs....that's how I knew she was really sick and got the diabetes diagnosis since she should weigh about 14lbs. I was expecting her to be hyperthyroid, not diabetic!! (didn't know anything about diabetes in cats back then....never even occurred to me that it could happen!!)

Now she's a little uh...."too fluffy" and needs to lose weight to get back down to about 14lbs!!...she's my little chunkette at this point

If you look at her Profile link, you'll see how bad she looked at diagnosis
 
Ok I'm going to test Fritz now do I continue to feed him a little bit or at what point do I stop feeding?
 
That's still a great number....I wouldn't feed him anymore and just test again in 30 minutes

If he's still surfing in the 90's or on his way up at that point, get one more test an hour later and if he's still doing OK then, you can call it a night I think

If he drops back down again, give another teaspoon or two of low carb food and start over

You want him surfing or going up for at least 2 hours from the last time he got food.
 
tonight is actually a darn good cycle for ProZinc (at least this early in!) We don't use ProZinc, but it's my understanding that starting out around 200 and dropping by 50% at nadir is pretty darn good!!

There's more information on the ProZinc method we use HERE (including what to do with low pre-shot numbers)

I hate to leave you, but between a diabetic cat that keeps me up all night and an 86 year old mother that keeps me running all day, I have to try to sleep sometime!

If you run into trouble, don't be afraid to use that 911

I think that he'll probably bounce at some point, so don't be disappointed if he's a lot higher in the morning. It's all part of the sugardance....but for now, I think you're really close to his nadir and he should be just fine for the rest of the night
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top