Need advice please - Baileyuk nadir 59

Status
Not open for further replies.

BaileyUK

Member Since 2013
Baileys +6 taken 1 hour ago was 3.3. He is fine,had food,and is now grooming himself.He had low numbers on 31st Jan,and his PM shot was given nearly 2 hours late,what worried me more than the low numbers was his slow rise to make it safe to shoot his PM shot,back in the Summer while still on Caninsulin he had a hypo,the vet told me not to give him insulin that night,resuming insulin the next day,we had a struggle over a few weeks to get him stabilised,at one point we thought we might loose him. I believe from Sandy that the adjustment I made over the last 24 hours (to get his shot time back to the normal) was too quick,and to possibly expect these low numbers.Please could you advise what to do next,and what to do if he has not reached safe numbers to shoot at this evenings PM shot time. Many thanks Diane & Bailey
P.S will wait for 2 hours to retest bg due to just being fed.
 
Re: Need advise please,Baileyuk nadir 3.3

Diane --

PLEASE post your numbers in US format. The convention on this board, since the majority of the members are in the US, is to post in mg/dL and not in mmol/L. You will get help more quickly if people do not have to do the conversion. The numbers are immediately calculated on the US tab of your SS if you would enter them. Please keep your SS up to date and post in a format so people can more readily help you.

Here are written instructions on managing low numbers. This information is also in the sticky note, "Shooting & Handling Low Numbers." Especially since you're in the UK, it's helpful to know where you can find this information since the board may not be active when you're up and about.

3.3 mmol/L = 59 mg/dL

Please re-test. I have no way to know what your pre-shot number was and how big a drop this is. When you are steering lower numbers, you want to test and feed every 20 - 30 min. to make sure the numbers are stable and not dropping. A description of the process is in the note I linked.

When you move your shot time, if you want to avoid an effect on the numbers, you move the time by 15 min. at each shot time or once a day by 30 min. It's OK to move in a larger increment when shooting early although you just need to monitor. An early shot acts like a dose increase whereas a late shot act like a dose reduction due to the influence of the insulin depot and the overlap between shots.

As for tonight, I'd see where Bailey is at closer to shot time. I would get a +11 and post then if you need help.
 
Re: Need advise please,Baileyuk nadir 3.3

Keep a close eye on him and test again now. Even though he ate, it's good to keep an eye on things. The thing about nadirs is that they move around, +6 is half way through the cycle, but some cats nadir at +2 or +3 one cycle and +8 the next. So Bailey may be at nadir, may have passed it or may be still dropping. Tricky those nadirs. I'm going to go back a bit in your posts and see if I can gather a bit more info. Will get back to you very soon

ETA: Could you please fill in your ss? And when you do a test enter it in there right away. It helps for the "at a glance" checks :smile:
 
Re: Need advise please,Baileyuk nadir 3.3

Just tested +8 4.8. So he is on the rise,still concerned about numbers at shot time,will be doubtful that he reaches 10 within the next 4 hours. Many thanks Kim and SIenne.
 
Re: Need advise please,Baileyuk nadir 3.3

Hi

There is a US conversion chart on baileys ss it's found along the grey tab menu at the bottom of the sheet.

Will continue to post numbers in US format.

Thank you!

Barnes and Bails
 
Great job finding the conversion tab :-D I use the world sheet too but am now so used to the US numbers as it is all anyone uses. So we have three hours to go for a +11 as Sienne suggested. It is hard to say if Bailey will continue to climb or stay surfing...we will have to be patient and see what happens.
Don't forget, you want to withhold food for two hours before the shot time. This is very important for seeing the 'true' bg reading, and especially in occasions like this where you may be borderline for shooting.
Do you have HC food, corn syrup (Karo), lots of test strips and the availability to test often after the shot if needed? These factors may determine whether you are guided to shoot or not.
 
Need advice please - Baileyuk AMPS 266, +6 59, +8 86

59 is a good nadir :mrgreen: .
If you could post your numbers something like this Subject Line above, that would really help. We sometimes look at the first page of condo headings to see if anyone needs help, and we're more used to the US format. So, for help quickly, that would be best ;-)

I agree with Sienne to get a +11 test. Those are always helpful as you compare them to the PS test and know whether Bailey is just surfing along in flat numbers or rising or falling.
 
Diane --

I know there's a US and World tab on the SS. It doesn't help, though, if:
  • The SS isn't up to date or
  • The numbers in your Subject line are in the UK format.
Not everyone opens a SS. In fact, most people don't open spreadsheets. If you need immediate help, it's not obvious if you post in mmol/dL since the vast majority of people here do not recognize that a number below 3 is equivalent to a number below 50. It's up to you how you post. However, please understand that you won't get as many people stopping by to lend a hand if they have to work at understanding what you're posting. It's unfortunate but it's what I've seen over the years.
 
Hi Kim,all is well,Bailey is alert and doing cat things on this sunny afternoon in the UK,he came in a few minutes ago and asked for another late lunch! so just fed a little,and will not feed now until shot time.
Will post later.Many thanks Diane
 
Hi SIenne,I am having to ask my son to post Baileys numbers onto ss ,I am not experienced on computers,he has tried to get me set up so that I can post onto Baileys ss,but my iPad doesn't wont let him do it,in fact it has now messed up my access to Baileys ss on my iPad.Will try to get it sorted for you,I do understand that you need to see numbers in a US format.
 
Hello Diane :cool:
You are seeing the effects of the back to back early shots increasing the amount of insulin in circulation.
As I mentioned yesterday the next few cycles may be affected.

Although nerve jangling, 59 is a lovely nadir, assuming it is his nadir and that he did not dip lower earlier in the cycle.

a comment from Baileys Feb1 condo:
BaileyUK said:
Bailey seems to be so erratic on numbers considering his food and injection timing is kept the same,I think because he is so unpredictable it might be unrealistic to try to achieve better numbers,without being vigilant throughout the night.
If you step back from your screen a bit and look at Baileys ss, there are a lot of 'wide open spaces'. It's very likely that the clues to why his numbers appear erratic can be found in those blocks of time.

I don't know your time restrictions, however it appears you may not have a lot of opportunities for testing. I have a couple suggestions that may help shed some light on the whole picture.

The first is to occasionally shift the timing of the tests you are able to get if possible. For example, instead of a +6 every day, get a +5 one day instead. On another day get a +7 instead.

Another area that needs more data are the +1s,+2s, +10s and +11s. Data from those times will be valuable when faced with a pre-shot number that is lower than you have ever seen.

Lastly, the occasional full cycle curve (testing every 2 hours) would be extremely helpful.

If you can apply any or all of the above, in time when you step back and look at the overall ss , instead of 'wide open spaces' you will see areas sprinkled with meaningful data.

Data that has potential to change "unpredictable" to "predictable" :cool:

BTW, Bailey is one handsome devil!
 
Hi Sandy,How right you were!
Have just taken Baileys bg,thank goodness it was 10.3 (185) so have given him his PM shot. Yes it was a lovely number for nadir,but makes me a little apprehensive being as it is very difficult to get bg tests through the night,am leaving the dose at 4 and see where the next few days take us,as B is so inconsistent with his numbers we may well be back in the pinks tomorrow!
Many thanks Sandy,also KIm and SIenne,words cannot express our gratitude,you are a lifeline.
Black Kitty is also a gorgeously handsome boy. Diane & Bailey
 
I'm a big fan of both sleeping and getting a +2 or +3 test. The early tests can give you a clue as to where the numbers are heading. If the +2 or +3 is lower than your pre-shot number, it's very likely that you will need to get additional tests. (Usually, the +2 is about the same as your pre-shot.) It the numbers are the same, there's no guarantee as to what will happen but the more data you collect and the more you understand how Bailey's numbers usually work, the more confidence you'll have when it comes to getting a good night's sleep.

FWIW, it had a huge amount of trouble with my iPad and Gabby's SS. Liz, one of Zener's caregivers, mentioned that the Google Drive app for iPad makes using the SS much easier. I found that to be the case and can update Gabby's SS using that app much more easily than any other methods.
 
Thanks SIenne, my son (Baileys dad) came round earlier,and tried to set up the app,it wouldn't take it,am too old for all this technology,I have enough to absorb trying to understand FD, so I pass on iPads.
Gabby is beautiful,so is Kim's Twice, aren't they all!I I could have a house full,just think of all that stress!
Hope your weekend has been good,many thanks Diane & B
 
Twice thanks you for the sweet compliment and agrees that Bailey is the cat's meow :-D
Sienne and Sandy mentioned some very important points about the testing times and filling in the ss. Believe me, the more data the better and safer. ;-)
Hope you're having a wonderful sleep with lots of kitty snuggles!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top