kalyv
Member Since 2011
Hi guys.
Back from my trip and Lucy seemed to do just fine with the catsitter who gave her 1 u bid.
When I got back on Thursday, I checked her BG, found she was in pink and increased her dose to 1.25 bid. She has been on that since then. This morning her AMPS was 196 or 10.9 but since here nadirs have been in the yellow, I fed her, waited 20 mins and gave her the usual 1.25. Right after her shot, she threw up everything she had gulped down. I have no idea why and she did not seem sick otherwise.
I was just heading out the door so I gave her a t-spoon of high carb Friskies.
When I got back and checked her BG at +4, she had dropped to 2.6 or 47. I immediately gave her half of what was left of the 6oz can of hc Friskies (Jasper got the rest.)
Her BG went back up immediately and then continued to rise. My plan was to give her the 1.25 units again since I figured the high carb food threw her numbers out of wack but her PMPS is giving me the "HI" reading which means it is over 30 which is the highest she has been in months.
I am guessing that, this is the result of the hc food coupled with the bounce. But I am worried at how high her BG is am wondering if I should increase her dose, and if so, by how much?
I would really appreciate some advice on her shot tonight which is due very, very soon.
Here is the previous post which shows how I came to the decision to try a reset on her dose.
Thanks. - kaly
PS: I have cross-posted this to the relaxed Lantus forum as well.
Back from my trip and Lucy seemed to do just fine with the catsitter who gave her 1 u bid.
When I got back on Thursday, I checked her BG, found she was in pink and increased her dose to 1.25 bid. She has been on that since then. This morning her AMPS was 196 or 10.9 but since here nadirs have been in the yellow, I fed her, waited 20 mins and gave her the usual 1.25. Right after her shot, she threw up everything she had gulped down. I have no idea why and she did not seem sick otherwise.
I was just heading out the door so I gave her a t-spoon of high carb Friskies.
When I got back and checked her BG at +4, she had dropped to 2.6 or 47. I immediately gave her half of what was left of the 6oz can of hc Friskies (Jasper got the rest.)
Her BG went back up immediately and then continued to rise. My plan was to give her the 1.25 units again since I figured the high carb food threw her numbers out of wack but her PMPS is giving me the "HI" reading which means it is over 30 which is the highest she has been in months.
I am guessing that, this is the result of the hc food coupled with the bounce. But I am worried at how high her BG is am wondering if I should increase her dose, and if so, by how much?
I would really appreciate some advice on her shot tonight which is due very, very soon.
Here is the previous post which shows how I came to the decision to try a reset on her dose.
Thanks. - kaly
PS: I have cross-posted this to the relaxed Lantus forum as well.