Need advice on Lucy's PM shot.

Status
Not open for further replies.

kalyv

Member Since 2011
Hi guys.

Back from my trip and Lucy seemed to do just fine with the catsitter who gave her 1 u bid.

When I got back on Thursday, I checked her BG, found she was in pink and increased her dose to 1.25 bid. She has been on that since then. This morning her AMPS was 196 or 10.9 but since here nadirs have been in the yellow, I fed her, waited 20 mins and gave her the usual 1.25. Right after her shot, she threw up everything she had gulped down. I have no idea why and she did not seem sick otherwise.

I was just heading out the door so I gave her a t-spoon of high carb Friskies.

When I got back and checked her BG at +4, she had dropped to 2.6 or 47. I immediately gave her half of what was left of the 6oz can of hc Friskies (Jasper got the rest.)

Her BG went back up immediately and then continued to rise. My plan was to give her the 1.25 units again since I figured the high carb food threw her numbers out of wack but her PMPS is giving me the "HI" reading which means it is over 30 which is the highest she has been in months.

I am guessing that, this is the result of the hc food coupled with the bounce. But I am worried at how high her BG is am wondering if I should increase her dose, and if so, by how much?

I would really appreciate some advice on her shot tonight which is due very, very soon.

Here is the previous post which shows how I came to the decision to try a reset on her dose.

Thanks. - kaly

PS: I will cross-post this to the tight reg forum as well.
 
Good Morning, Kaly and Lucy ~

Glad you're back from your trip, Kaly. Bet you missed your dear Lucy, and I'm sure she missed you, too. It's great that you have a catsitter able to give Lucy her insulin while you're away. We haven't found anyone like that yet. And how's Lucy doing today?...no more throwing up, I hope.

Sorry no one was around here to help with Lucy's shot last night, Kaly. I must have just missed you while I was posting to Mel. Glad you got that good advice on Lantus TR. You're already seeing some rebound for Lucy which can take up to 72 hours to clear, not always that long since ECID (Every Cat Is Different). I know those high bg numbers can be worrisome, Kaly, and tend to make us think we need an immediate dose increase to bring those numbers down. (I've been there and felt that way myself...). But, with Lantus, we don't increase our doses based on rebound highs. We increase based on nadirs (low points in the cycle) over a period of days. I know it's hard to wait out those rebound highs, Kaly, when we want our sweet kitties to have lower numbers...just hang in there and her numbers will start coming down again.

Now that you're dropping Lucy's dose down to 1.0U, give that dose time to settle in and hold it for a week or so to see how it's working for Lucy. Of course, if you get numbers under 50 for her again, then a dose reduction will be called for.

Hope you have a good day with Lucy,
Eva
 
Hi Eva,

Thanks for your response. Lucy was fine today and didn't throw up again so I have no idea what caused it yesterday morning. Whenever she does throw up, she tends to dip pretty low. But just to be on the safe side I gave her 1 unit am and pm today. She is back in the pink. It usually takes a couple of days for her to work herself through the rebound. She is very bouncy so I have gotten used to dealing with that. But the extreme HI I got yesterday worried me.

Anyway, I will do as you suggest and keep her on 1 unit for the rest of the week and see how it goes.

Thanks again.
 
Good Morning, Kaly and Lucy ~

Glad Lucy was fine yesterday and not throwing up. "Whenever she does throw up, she tends to dip pretty low." -- Kaly, you've made a good observation about Lucy's low of 47 at AM +4 on 1/29, since she'd thrown up her food. With food on board, she likely wouldn't have dropped below 50. Maybe holding the 1.25U dose would have been the thing to do since you were getting those nice blue numbers for her at AM preshot and AM +5. But, now, I think it makes sense to try out that 1.0U dose to see how Lucy responds. Kaly, at the end of the week, if you're finding that her numbers are creeping up, then take her back up to the 1.25U dose. I agree with you...always better to be safe with our kitties, your sweet Lucy.

Hope you have a pleasant day,
Eva

P.S. "But the extreme HI I got yesterday worried me." -- That would have worried me, too, Kaly. Hang in there!
 
Keep in mind that bounces do clear over about 48 hours, sometimes longer, or sometimes sooner. Every cat is different (ECID). The throwing up could be excess acid in her stomach. My cats do that, too. They'll throw up a white frothy substance, and then feel better afterwards. Hope Lucy is better today, and will give you some nicer #s. :)
 
Angela & Blackie & 8 Others said:
Keep in mind that bounces do clear over about 48 hours, sometimes longer, or sometimes sooner. Every cat is different (ECID). The throwing up could be excess acid in her stomach. My cats do that, too. They'll throw up a white frothy substance, and then feel better afterwards. Hope Lucy is better today, and will give you some nicer #s. :)
Yeah, I think this is what it was Angela. She tends to do this every couple of weeks and sometimes it is hairball related and sometimes not. But I don't think it's infection since it is not really chronic and she never seems to develop a temperature or anything.

Eva, she is still pink today but I think I agree with you that I probably should have kept her at 1.25. Anyway, I will stick with the 1 u for a couple more days and see if her numbers go down.

Unfortunately, it does seem like she often vomits when her numbers go into the blues and that always throws everything off. Perhaps I am better off sticking with the dose and just giving her a little more hc to compensate for the food she does not absorb when she gets sick.

Bouncy with a touchy stomach is not a fun combo for her or for me.
 
Hi, Kaly and Lucy ~

"Eva, she is still pink today but I think I agree with you that I probably should have kept her at 1.25. Anyway, I will stick with the 1 u for a couple more days and see if her numbers go down." -- With Lucy's PM dose at 1.0U today, you'll have allowed 72 hours for her bounce to clear, Kaly. If you don't see a breakthrough in her numbers by tomorrow morning, then it probably makes sense to take her back up to the 1.25U dose, don't you think?

"Bouncy with a touchy stomach is not a fun combo for her or for me." -- That's a tough combo for you and Lucy, Kaly. Hope her tummy settles down for you.

Have a pleasant day,
Eva
 
Thanks Eva. It was a good day for me because work was less crazy hectic than usual.

So I checked Lucy when I got home at about +11.5 and before she ate and her BG was a nice blue 10.7 or 193. I fed her, though she didn't seem particularly starving but she ate a little of her wet low carb and a few treats.

I will wait until 8:00 p.m. then check her again before giving her PM shot. But it looks like the 1 u is a good place to stay for now. What do you guys think?
 
Hi, Kaly ~

"So I checked Lucy when I got home at about +11.5 and before she ate and her BG was a nice blue 10.7 or 193." -- YES! Love that blue for Lucy. That bounce has cleared for her. I agree with you, Kaly, to stay with that 1.0U dose for now.

Have a good evening with your furgirl.

Eva
 
Hi, Kaly ~

Nice yellow, green, and blue numbers for Lucy in the PM on 2/2 :-D ! Now you're doing the waiting game, waiting for her bounce to clear which can take up to 72 hours. After the bounce clears, Kaly, you'll be able to see what kind of action you're continuing to get with that 1.0U dose.

Hope you and Lucy have a pleasant day.

Eva
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top