Jess & Luna
Member Since 2017
Hello all! My name is Jessica and I have an approximately 10-12 year old diabetic cat named Luna that has been on Lantus since September 2017. I'm home testing using a Relion Confirm Meter and she eats FF Classic 3x a day. When I first started her on Lantus I thought we were making progress, but her numbers have skyrocketed in the past month or so. The problem is that she is nearly always in the high 300's for AM/PM shots but her nadir is in the 100's or lower. I am trying to follow SLGS method and have slowly decreased her dose from 2 units to 1 unit after a few scary numbers under 50. According to SLGS it just seems like I should be holding her dose but I really wish I could get her regulated so she isn't in the 300's for so many hours a day.
When she gets her insulin she drops fast and I don't know if that is causing her to bounce. I have tried very hard to understand bouncing and I'm really not sure if that is what is happening becuase she has a normal looking curve every day, she just doesn't get that nice flat curve that I thought Lantus was supposed to achieve. In her case it doesn't seem like Lantus is affecting her in the way it is supposed to. I don't see any slow release or long lasting effects! She frequently bottoms out in hour 4-5 and climbs back up into the high 200's and 300's fast. I am really at a loss for what to change. Her spreadsheet is here:
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1PPw380QLOq7oJ0dOcLl1oyRnIebSUg_y5KPanIxmqS8/edit?usp=sharing
Any advice is much appreciated. I have learned a lot on these forums.
When she gets her insulin she drops fast and I don't know if that is causing her to bounce. I have tried very hard to understand bouncing and I'm really not sure if that is what is happening becuase she has a normal looking curve every day, she just doesn't get that nice flat curve that I thought Lantus was supposed to achieve. In her case it doesn't seem like Lantus is affecting her in the way it is supposed to. I don't see any slow release or long lasting effects! She frequently bottoms out in hour 4-5 and climbs back up into the high 200's and 300's fast. I am really at a loss for what to change. Her spreadsheet is here:
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1PPw380QLOq7oJ0dOcLl1oyRnIebSUg_y5KPanIxmqS8/edit?usp=sharing
Any advice is much appreciated. I have learned a lot on these forums.
Last edited: