Need Advice Insulin Dose PM

Scdal

Member Since 2020
This last Friday, Phoenix went down to 44 on 8.5 units. On Saturday, I decreased it to 8 units on AMPS but then went to 8.25 units since then.

Today, I had some errands to run. Phoenix ate his breakfast and had his 8.25 units. His BG was 280. I had to leave at 11 a.m. and Phoenix usually eats again at 1pm. I knew I wouldn't be home in time so I gave him a portion of his lunch as I was leaving. At that time, his BG was 259.

When I returned home at 4pm, his BG was 99. I fed him his full lunch at that time. I thought his BG would rise as it usually does but it has now dropped to 81. I gave him more food and will check again in 30 minutes. It is getting scary again.

My question is what about his insulin shot tonight? It is due in 2 hours. Should I give him the 8.25 units or decrease his dose. I am still new to these low numbers and it is scaring me. Please help!!
 
Usually high dose cats get at least a .50 reduction. Post with the bg a little before 2 hours and see if Wendy is around or someone else with a high dose cat who can help. You should not have gone back up to 8.5 so I would not shoot more than 8 units.
 
I don't know why you increased the dose to 8.25 units, you should have stayed with 8.0 units. 8.25 units is too much.

Can you test again at +11 or +11.5 and let us know what the number is so we can help with the PMPS shot. No shot if under 90.
 
It has been 30 minutes and he is now at 71 BG at +10. I will check again in 30 minutes. I know he is not supposed to eat anything for 2 hours prior to his injection.
I thought when he went low on Friday that I was told to decrease his dose by .25. Instead, I decreased it
by .50 I realized my mistake and went back up by .25
 
You can give a couple tsps of low carb food now. Hopefully that'll slow the drop. Then nothing after than unless he goes low (under 50).
 
I see on your previous post here, you got conflicting advice - which happens. With larger dose cat (dose over 5 units), it's best to take a 0.5 unit reductions, especially since he got down to 44.
 
Thank you, I just checked his BG again and it has risen to 83. He has 1 more hour until his PM insulin shot is due. If he is above 90, should I give him 8 units? I know you said to skip his shot if he is 90 or below. Thanks so much for your help!!
 
It is now +11. He has only risen to 85. Please stay with me for 1 more hour until his insulin shot is due. Thank you
 
Phoenix PMPS is now 172. I think I am supposed to give him 8 units. Is that correct?
 
They were some really nice numbers today :D and safe ones. It does look like he’s going to start a bounce now but I’d still get another test tonight to make sure.
 
Thank you for answering. I gave him 8 units. I am wondering if those low numbers were caused by him not getting all his lunch on time. I only gave him about a third of it early because I had errands to run. He got the rest of his lunch 3 hours late. I am thinking about getting a timed feeder.

I do have a question though. Earlier, Wendy told me not to shoot below 90. But I have been shooting as low as 84 in the morning. I see that other members shoot lower numbers than I do. I don't understand this.
 
Back
Top