Scdal
Member Since 2020
This last Friday, Phoenix went down to 44 on 8.5 units. On Saturday, I decreased it to 8 units on AMPS but then went to 8.25 units since then.
Today, I had some errands to run. Phoenix ate his breakfast and had his 8.25 units. His BG was 280. I had to leave at 11 a.m. and Phoenix usually eats again at 1pm. I knew I wouldn't be home in time so I gave him a portion of his lunch as I was leaving. At that time, his BG was 259.
When I returned home at 4pm, his BG was 99. I fed him his full lunch at that time. I thought his BG would rise as it usually does but it has now dropped to 81. I gave him more food and will check again in 30 minutes. It is getting scary again.
My question is what about his insulin shot tonight? It is due in 2 hours. Should I give him the 8.25 units or decrease his dose. I am still new to these low numbers and it is scaring me. Please help!!
Today, I had some errands to run. Phoenix ate his breakfast and had his 8.25 units. His BG was 280. I had to leave at 11 a.m. and Phoenix usually eats again at 1pm. I knew I wouldn't be home in time so I gave him a portion of his lunch as I was leaving. At that time, his BG was 259.
When I returned home at 4pm, his BG was 99. I fed him his full lunch at that time. I thought his BG would rise as it usually does but it has now dropped to 81. I gave him more food and will check again in 30 minutes. It is getting scary again.
My question is what about his insulin shot tonight? It is due in 2 hours. Should I give him the 8.25 units or decrease his dose. I am still new to these low numbers and it is scaring me. Please help!!