Tara and Scully
Member Since 2014
Scully is beginning her second week on Lantus. The first two days we were too uncomfortable maintaining her 1 unit dose in the PM due to her low PM preshot numbers. We reduced her dose to .5 units BID and have maintained that so far, but her numbers are all over the place. I know that during the week last week I hardly have any mid-cycle numbers, but we have been testing a lot the last few days. Her numbers are mostly high, but Sunday night she went as low as 64 before coming back up. Her AMPS and PMPS numbers were good on 5/22/14, but unfortunately I was unable to see how low she got during that cycle. I have read the dosing protocol several times, but am unsure whether to increase, decrease or hold her dose because one day her nadir is in the mid-200s, then another cycle she's in the green. Tonight her PMPS number was decent at 228, but at +2 her BG jumped up to 351! Could someone please recommend if we should change her dosage? I'm inclined to raise it .25, but I would appreciate some feedback from someone more knowledgeable than me.
One other thing... The last 3 weeks (at least), Scully has begun overgrooming and tearing tufts of fur out, leaving bald spots on her front and back legs. I believe the technical term is psychogenic alopecia, and it is a result of stress. I have read that cats will produce higher BG numbers at the vet's office due to stress, so perhaps her higher numbers recently may also be stress-related.
Thanks in advance for your advice!!
Tara & Scully
One other thing... The last 3 weeks (at least), Scully has begun overgrooming and tearing tufts of fur out, leaving bald spots on her front and back legs. I believe the technical term is psychogenic alopecia, and it is a result of stress. I have read that cats will produce higher BG numbers at the vet's office due to stress, so perhaps her higher numbers recently may also be stress-related.
Thanks in advance for your advice!!
Tara & Scully