Need advice--Heidi's bg down to 156 after only a week

Status
Not open for further replies.
OK, I shot .5 units at 10:38 a.m. So hard to measure this tiny amount--my syringes aren't marked in half units.

Where do i go from here? I'd assume, more testing in a few hours to see any results?

Thanks!
Corinne
 
Thanks! I may be gone for awhile. I do want to go to the drugstore and buy some of that Neosporin with pain relief and some ketostix.

Corinne
 
Corinne

With as little data as you currently have, I would not shoot my cat and leave. Even though you shot .5u late, the shed may still give you the same numbers as if you had shot 1u on time. Please get a +1 and a +2.

I'll check back in at 11:45 to see how she's doing but then I have to go out. If you post on the TR forum, someone can help you if need be.
 
Sorry I'm a few minutes late to post, but I did the reading at 11:40 a.m. and it was 237. So the number is going up. Will get a +2 at 12:40.

Thanks, Marje.

Corinne
 
Good, it will be soon.
Is 237 really a good number? I thought it meant her bg was moving up and that would be bad.
Thanks again!!!!!

Corinne
 
Hi Corinne,
The increase in BG numbers can happen after they eat, because food pushes the numbers up (and insulin pushes them back down). So to see an increase in the first hour or two after eating is not a bad thing. If you take another look at what Marje posted last night about the typical lantus curve, you'll see that the first two hours may show an increase or a number that is about the same as the number you got at shot time. I think that what Marje meant about it being a "good number" is that it was what would be typical, rather than a number that was dropping much at this point in the cycle. In other words, Heidi is reacting in a typical way to the dose.


Example of a typical Lantus curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.

Carl
 
Carl, thanks for that info!

Marje, Heidi's +2 reading is 216.

I'm going to move this info over to the TR Lantus forum.

Corinne
 
The link to my spreadsheet, such as it is, is showing up now at the bottom of my posts. I should have changed it to "words" so it would stand out like other people's spreadsheets. Marje, how did you expand the columns where you showed the food Gracie ate that day?

Thanks everyone, for your help. The instructions on how to make a spreadsheet were really straightforward and easy to follow.

Corinne
 
The no shot/stall issue is exactly why I was suggesting that Corrine reduce the dose - so she could shoot consistently. She's still getting her bearings, getting the hang of testing, and learning how Heidi responds to the insulin. Plus she observed symptoms which suggested there could have been a hypo.

Corinne, there are some secondary monitoring tools in a link in my signature. These are approximate (blood tests are 'gold standard'), but will give you some clues as to what is happening any time you aren't able to get a blood glucose test. The urine ketone testing is especially important while you are getting everything worked out. High levels of ketones can suggest diabetic ketoacidosis (the body breaks down fat for energy) a complication of diabetes which is an emergency, very expensive to treat, and often requires hospitalization.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top