? NEED ADVICE - Fur Shot at AMPS, now +6.5 558

Mary Ann & Baby

Member Since 2018
This morning at AMPS it was a furshot. I don't know how much of the 7.5u she received. Now at +6.5 she is at 558. :( Should I just wait, or give her a 1/2 dose, or less? Any suggestions?

Thanks!
 
And as a follow up to that furshot...I've heard it's better to give the shots in different spots, but it seems so often when I try that, she walks away from the shot or tries to nip me. Is is okay if I just stick to the scruff all the time?
 
I always shoot in the same spot. No need to change unless you see a problem such as pain or poor absorption.

Rule with fur shot is not to reshoot because you wont know how much has been given. Better to be safe than sorry and get back on track tonight.
 
I rotated shoulders/scruff, left and right, up and down a bit for 5 years with no issues. I only changed it when I was also giving fluids and would then should on the side. Which she didn't like. :mad:

Glad you didn't shoot. Baby will get back on track soon enough. But your cycle clock starts over, you'll have to hold this dose at least six cycles, starting at cycle 1 tonight.
 
Every time I gave a fur shot I would put $1 in my "fur-shot basket". At the end of the year I would buy something nice, like a good bottle of wine (I was an expert at giving fur shots).
As everyone else has said: don't give more insulin in the event of a fur shot, just wait until the next shot time.

p.s. I shot Rusty in the same spot in his scruff for all the years he was with us. No problems.
 
Back
Top