Need advice for today's Lantus dose please - I made a mistake

Status
Not open for further replies.
Sara, don't know if you saw my response earlier.
I don't know if this would help get the lantus sooner
Contact: Wendy at Diabetic cats in need (DCIN)
Wendy@dcin.info
She may be can get you lantus quickly
They got me the glucometer for Ezzie within 2 days.
Good luck
Emailing her now. Thank you, Kathi
 
Samba is so cute. I work the next 2 days and was fretting about that. One local contact ( very experienced with having diabetic cats) who's vet is experienced with diabetic cats said he feels 0.5 dosing to 1 unit should not cause cat to crash, ( unless infection, something else going on). That was helpful, the other was if you can't get a BG, your day is falling apart, hold the insulin. I agree with this, as I'd rather have her run high for a few hours vs. crashing from insulin dropping her blood sugar too low. That actually happened to me the first night she came home 2 weeks ago. Found her in hypoglycemic shock, used honey and rushed her to the vet. She stabilized and came back home with me, but I doNOT want to ever go through that again. I ended up canceling my work schedule that day. I was a wreck! So,it has helped to have these guys for help and support. I also was introduced to Diabetic Cats in Need: DCIN. They can help with: insulin, glucometer, lancets. Very helpful with cost, especially the insulin. Google : diabetic cat in need, look for: Wendy 's email address. She's in WI.
So sorry you had to find her that way. Thanks for the referral to DCIN... I hadn't heard of them. Still waiting for my Lantus from Canada
 
Thanks. PMPS was 484
He vomited up all of his dinner within minutes of me giving him his PM dose of insulin. This is the first time that this has happened. What might be the cause? I'm hoping it's just because he ate too quickly.
 
He vomited up all of his dinner within minutes of me giving him his PM dose of insulin. This is the first time that this has happened. What might be the cause? I'm hoping it's just because he ate too quickly.
That could be. Keep a close eye on him because Novolin can hit fast and he should have food on board. Maybe try a very small amount of food in 15 minutese or so to see if he's interested. If that works, try a tiny bit more 15 minutes after that.
 
That could be. Keep a close eye on him because Novolin can hit fast and he should have food on board. Maybe try a very small amount of food in 15 minutese or so to see if he's interested. If that works, try a tiny bit more 15 minutes after that.
Any sign of your Lantus yet? I think you could go to 1.75 u of Novolin either tonight or tomorrow AM.
Thanks. I will raise the dose to 1.75 tonight. The latest tracking activity says that it is "inbound out of customs" from San Francisco. I imagine that I will start to see some more motion on Monday. His +9 today was 474
 
Samba will be able to get back on his Lantus either Thursday evening or Friday evening, thanks to @Kath4158 for the recommendation to reach out to Wendy who sold me a single pen for $20 (thank you, Kathi!!!) The 5-pack shipment from Marks still does not have an estimated delivery date, but at least we can get back on the good road soon :) Will need dosing advice @Chris & China. should I start a new thread? My vet recommended restarting him at 1 u BID instead of the 2 u BID he was previously on, but she hasn't seen his spreadsheet.
Thank you @Kris & Teasel for all your help in the interim.
 
You're welcome, Sarah. I hope you get into the Lantus groove ASAP. You might want to start a new thread asking for dosing advice. :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top