Sarah Mc
Member Since 2017
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/shattered-lantus-need-dosing-advice-for-tonight.171643/
Hello,
I was posting in the Feline Health forum and was asked to create a thread here in the Lantus forum as well.
-My cat, Samba, was diagnosed with FD on 12/31/16 after a BG reading of 460 at the vet's office and immediately started on 3 units of Novolin N BID for three days, followed by 2 units of Novolin N BID until 1/7/17. His diet was also switched from Iams Adult dry food to Royal Canin Glycobalance dry food, per the vet.
-On 1/7/17, we returned to the vet, and his BG was higher at 472. He was immediately switched to 2 units of Lantus BID which he got every day until this evening (will explain in a sec).
-On 1/14/17, we returned to the vet, and his BG was 426. I was advised to switch him to a wet food diet and keep him on the same dose of insulin (2 units of Lantus BID) and also advised to order an Alphatrak, which I did.
-Over the last week, I've gradually reduced Samba's dry food intake and increased his wet food intake, and he will be fully transitioned to the wet food effective tomorrow (he only had about 15 pieces of kibble today). His Alphatrak arrived in the mail tonight. I thought we were on a good track until I dropped his Lantus vial at his PM dose tonight (prior to him receiving it), and it shattered everywhere.
-I then came on here and posted the following thread in the Feline Health forum: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/shattered-lantus-need-dosing-advice-for-tonight.171643/
-After receiving guidance there, I home tested for the first time using the Alphatrak, and his BG was 509 at 11:17 PM. He then received one unit of Novolin N at 11:50 PM because this was all that I had on hand, and there are no Walmart Pharmacies open past 9 PM in Maryland. I was advised to skip his AM dose tomorrow since I will need to leave for work by 8 AM, and it will be too soon to administer another dose before I leave.
I plan to pick up more Lantus after work, as well as the Relion meter because it's more affordable. How would you advise that I proceed with dosing tomorrow night?
I'm so sorry for my carelessness. It has been a trying night, and Samba is very mad at me.
Thank you for your help.
-Sarah
Hello,
I was posting in the Feline Health forum and was asked to create a thread here in the Lantus forum as well.
-My cat, Samba, was diagnosed with FD on 12/31/16 after a BG reading of 460 at the vet's office and immediately started on 3 units of Novolin N BID for three days, followed by 2 units of Novolin N BID until 1/7/17. His diet was also switched from Iams Adult dry food to Royal Canin Glycobalance dry food, per the vet.
-On 1/7/17, we returned to the vet, and his BG was higher at 472. He was immediately switched to 2 units of Lantus BID which he got every day until this evening (will explain in a sec).
-On 1/14/17, we returned to the vet, and his BG was 426. I was advised to switch him to a wet food diet and keep him on the same dose of insulin (2 units of Lantus BID) and also advised to order an Alphatrak, which I did.
-Over the last week, I've gradually reduced Samba's dry food intake and increased his wet food intake, and he will be fully transitioned to the wet food effective tomorrow (he only had about 15 pieces of kibble today). His Alphatrak arrived in the mail tonight. I thought we were on a good track until I dropped his Lantus vial at his PM dose tonight (prior to him receiving it), and it shattered everywhere.
-I then came on here and posted the following thread in the Feline Health forum: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/shattered-lantus-need-dosing-advice-for-tonight.171643/
-After receiving guidance there, I home tested for the first time using the Alphatrak, and his BG was 509 at 11:17 PM. He then received one unit of Novolin N at 11:50 PM because this was all that I had on hand, and there are no Walmart Pharmacies open past 9 PM in Maryland. I was advised to skip his AM dose tomorrow since I will need to leave for work by 8 AM, and it will be too soon to administer another dose before I leave.
I plan to pick up more Lantus after work, as well as the Relion meter because it's more affordable. How would you advise that I proceed with dosing tomorrow night?
I'm so sorry for my carelessness. It has been a trying night, and Samba is very mad at me.
Thank you for your help.
-Sarah
Last edited:

Thank you Marje! Tonight just hug Samba and go to sleep and don't worry about numbers until you have what you need. Glad you found us!