Need advice!! Decrease needed

Status
Not open for further replies.

cjaubz

Member Since 2009
Haven't even had a chance to introduce myself yet. I'm Cj long time member of board with 6years experience on high dose kitty on lantus and levemir. Going to read stickies now as I'm not familiar with prozinc
Just adopted a 9 year old rag doll Oreo with diabetes was on 3u am and 2u pm just got my first home test and she was 49 at+8.5 No symptoms of hypo just fed.
Just found out she had access to dry food to free feed in foster will only be fed low carb here. I'll test again in 30 to make sure she is on the rise. Will set up new ss
I'll get ps tonight but not sure what to adjust her dose to
Thanks
Cj
 
Hi CJ,
Assuming you get a high enough number to shoot, I would drop it to at most 1.0.
Especially with the food switch.
Carl
 
If she's high by PMPS, it's gotta be a bounce.
Carl
 
Was just thinking it might bounce high. Nadir typically +6 from what I can see on the stickies?
 
Typically at +6 yes. But a late nadir happens sometimes if the dose is too high. To start, although you aren't a newbie to FD, I would probably go with 200. At least until you get a curve or two
Carl
 
Agreed thanks for your help retest just came in at 101... Forgot how hard it is to get "new ears" to bleed ohmygod_smile
 
Still nice. But I'm guessing a bounce in on the way.

You'll find Prozinc quite different from the L's, but easy to get used to. More of a smile shaped curve, rarely dose overlap, no depot. And it is more a combination of Preshots and Nadir that determine dose rather than the nadir being primary. And you're probably accustomed to shooting low numbers at preshot which isn't the case with Prozinc. Once you have P data, you'll feel comfortable shooting blue numbers though. Not likely you'll ever shoot at a green however. :smile:

Carl
 
Thanks for the insight very helpful! Was thinking about switching her to lantus but with this surprise and going on vacation in a month I'm thinking now about just stabilizing on pzi and waiting until we return. Got ss created and linked. Vet just texted and is on board with 1u if above 200 and reading in the middle of the night at +6
 
Pmps 316 1u...bounce
I'm going to try to get some mid cycle readings so we can see where we are at
 
Good call. I'll be up for a while and I'll check back for any updates.
Carl
 
Congratulations on your new girlie, CJ. Sound advice from Carl on dosing, no-shot number, and bounce. You know what they say--you break it, you buy it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top