Need advice. BG 92 first time.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Beck and Philly

Member Since 2018
I just checked Grandpa's +6 numbers, and it is 92.

He was 205 first thing this morning. I fed him but waited to do his shot. It went to 305 an hour after eating so I gave him his 2 units.

I just gave him a snack of 1/2 a can of Beyond pate. He was very hungry.

Yesterday was the first day he dropped below 300. Now he's below 100. I'm not sure of next steps. Help appreciated.
 
Hi,
I would encourage you to post on the Vetsulin sub forum , I use Lantus.

But I would retest him 30 min after he's done eating his Beyond snack - to make sure he is not falling lower. The +6 is, if I am not mistaken, is about Vetsulin nadir time and might start loosing its potency. Further tests will tell you better.
Can you re-test now if it's 30 min since and post the result here?
 
92 is a great, safe number! Grandpa may not be used to it, which could be why he was so hungry. Good job giving him a snack, that was the right thing to do in this situation. For future reference, if he ever starts going really low, or going low earlier, you'll still want to feed, but cautiously. The food acts to help boost BG numbers back up, but if you need to do that over an extended time period, you hve to be careful not to overfeed early, you want them a little hungry throughout.

As Tanya says, you'll want to get another test in soon, just to make sure he's holding steady or starting to come up. Very exciting to see such good progress so early in his treatment!
 
Thank you both for replying. I just tested again and was disappointed to see that he is back up to 277.

His poor ears are starting to look like pincushions. He was sitting where the sun could shine through and I could see all the places we've tested. Breaks my heart.
 
I just tested again and was disappointed to see that he is back up to 277.
it is probably a bounce - don't get disappointed, it'll pass.
His poor ears are starting to look like pincushions. He was sitting where the sun could shine through and I could see all the places we've tested. Breaks my heart.
Put some Neosporin with pain reliever if you have it. Ointment is better than cream.
I also use Halo to heal Ducia's ears and minor scratches - heals really quickly.
http://shop.halopets.com/Products/Herbal-Healing-Salve.
Cat's ears do not feel as much pain as other areas - naturally. Ears do look red but it is less painful than it appears.
 
If it’s any consolation Truffles does this. He has had readings of 65 at +6 which is when I feed him again. By the evening his BG can be back up again. A few times this week I’ve had to stall his pm shot for an hour. Truffles has always had an appetite so he’ll eat at any time! Hang on in there.
 
Great numbers for Grandpa today. That's about right where you want him. Definitely get some input from the Vetsulin forum. And when feeding a low number just a little bit of food will make a correction. A larger amount, especially high carb, will basically abort the cycle.

Your both doing excellent. Keep up the good work. :)
 
If it’s any consolation Truffles does this. He has had readings of 65 at +6 which is when I feed him again. By the evening his BG can be back up again. A few times this week I’ve had to stall his pm shot for an hour. Truffles has always had an appetite so he’ll eat at any time! Hang on in there.
Thanks! I love Truffles' name.
 
Great numbers for Grandpa today. That's about right where you want him. Definitely get some input from the Vetsulin forum. And when feeding a low number just a little bit of food will make a correction. A larger amount, especially high carb, will basically abort the cycle.

Your both doing excellent. Keep up the good work. :)
Thank you. The food I used as a snack is listed on the food chart, but does not yet have info. The other similar foods are around 3% carbs. I gave him about 1 1/2 ounces Would that be considered a small or large amount?
 
I'm not familiar with that particular food. I keep some high carb canned food that I know Lucy can't resist around for emergencies when her numbers get really low and I need to make sure she gets some carbs quick. And I still have some of her old high carb dry food on hand that she loves. I'm a little paranoid about hypo events because there have been some in the past but she does handle low numbers very well. ECID (every cat is different) with how they handle low numbers, and what exactly is a low number to them. All I have to go on is the meter numbers, but since she can't tell me how she's feeling I error on the side of caution.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top